Let It Rain!

Not in Oakland. Seriously — we are LOVING this warm, sunny East Bay weather. Three days and we’ve already forgotten why we ever lived in San Francisco.

Let it rain in Honduras.

Remember this?

Well, I’m back with more on the Association for a More Just Society. The Temples have been pretty busy lately with life stuff, but here’s something I’ve learned as I’ve gotten older: you’ve gotta keep it all in perspective (I know, profound, huh? But it’s true, and actually really hard to do). Houses, cars, material possessions — they’re meaningless, really. Just shells for the really meaningful stuff.

So I’m trying to keep my channels open while we’re fixing this house up; staying tuned into the important stuff lest I get lost in a sea of materiality. My lawyer friends’ work on restoring justice to the beleaguered nation of Honduras is one of those things I keep tabs on because it’s of great meaning and impact in this world: far more so than the fate of our old house.

When Jill at AJS came to me a couple weeks ago and asked if I could help out with their new social media campaign, I was therefore thrilled. Of course, I’ve got plenty on my plate right now, but I wanted to make time to get involved and I’m proud to say that somehow amidst all our “stuff,” I have.

My assignment was to photograph people holding an umbrella, with a homemade sign that read, “May peace and justice rain down on Honduras.” And if it’s raining in Honduras right now the way it rained on me in Costa Rica a few weeks ago… Well, this is the right time for a campaign with a theme like that.

I packed a bag with my sign and umbrella and told her I was all over it.

Today is my 34th birthday, and I could be ending this long day by doing a lot of things. But I’ve chosen to sit and reflect on what AJS is doing and share what I’ve been doing for them.

Since I’m not on Facebook (oh, the irony, huh?), this blog post is for Jill, JoAnn, Russ, and everyone else at AJS. Happy birthday to me, and may peace and justice rain down on Honduras.

Me under the umbrella.

Self-portrait with umbrella.

Autumn under the umbrella.

Autumn, Chabot Space & Science Center Observatory Deck.

Trent under the umbrella.

Trent ❤

JR under the umbrella.

Justin, general manager of Beretta, under the umbrella after serving us our first anniversary dinner. 🙂

Katy under the umbrella.

Katy, on crutches and under the umbrella.

The Ruschhaupts under the umbrella.

The Ruschhaupts (my in-laws).

Judy and George under the umbrella.

Aunt Judy and Uncle George.

The Eastwoods under the umbrella.

Dorothy and Burgess Eastwood. Married 73 years.

The Rippees under the umbrella.

Kristen and Scott Rippee. Married 3 hours.

Marlene under the umbrella.

Marlene. There’s no way this will bring seven years bad luck.

Laetitia under the umbrella.

Laetitia.

Sam under the umbrella.

Lazy puppy loafer.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Let It Rain!

  1. Marlene says:

    Love the lazy puppy loafter best! Happy Birthday Lisa (for 21 more minutes).

  2. What a WONDERFUL way to spend your birthday! Congratulations, Lisa! You have captured the true meaning of life at a very young age. Thank you for taking time in the middle of all your projects to focus on what really matters. That kind of perspective will enable you to live a long, happy, active and fulfilling life. We would like to volunteer for a photo op for Honduras in Detroit. Do you want to schedule a “shoot”? Maybe we can use some of the locations we used for your wedding photos. And I see that Sammy has still not budged from his towel pile. (He has the most beautiful doggy eyes.) BTW, you look gorgeous in that black dress. Happy 35th Birthday! Sounds perfect to me! Love, Mom and Sarah and Grandparents

  3. Jo Ann says:

    Beautiful LIsa!! Thank you so much for spreading the word.

  4. Viola Pastuszyn says:

    I missed your birthday! 😦

    Happy belated, anyway!

  5. Russ says:

    Wonderful post and participation. Ourr prayers are for a torrent of justice. Do justice, love mercy, and walk humbly with the Lord.

  6. Carla Daniels says:

    Happy belated birthday Lisa!! Can’t wait to see you in Detroit this week!

  7. lisatemp says:

    OMG, you guys. IT RAINED LAST NIGHT! 😀

  8. […] QUITE as quick and easy as I’d hoped, but I found one. Then we raced home so I could start downloading my photos for AJS as […]

Leave a Reply

