Some Happy News…

Because I need it right now:

My roses have risen from the dead.

When we moved in, the eight rose bushes in front of our house (all different types, and from the looks of them, many years old) were so mismanaged and infested with aphids, I thought they were bound for the compost heap. Every petal eaten, every cane withered, every leaf munched into a slice of swiss cheese.

But after meeting with a gardener and reading up on how to hard prune mature rose bushes, I (warily) decided to give it a shot. I devoted a sunny September Sunday afternoon to sitting cross-legged on the sidewalk, lops in hand.

It cost me quite a few bloody fingertips, and the rose bushes looked frighteningly shorn for a few weeks, but now I have this:

Rose bush coming back.

My hybrid rose, making its comeback.

And, now that the rain has arrived, soon I will have blooms.

Lots of blooms.

Grass babies, meet rose babies.

🙂

Tagged , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Some Happy News…

  1. CA Mom says:

    Great job… I knew you had at least 1 green thumb! Keep up the good work the roses should bloom in the fall and then again next spring. What gorgeous fall colors, too.
    Be sure to watch them over the winter to make sure those nasty aphids don’t make a come back!!!
    Hugs,
    CA Mom

  2. Carla Daniels says:

    You saved the rose babies yay!

  3. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    What a precious analogy! All that “growth” and “birth” in your beautiful little back yard. I am sure you will protect those “babies” with you whole heart and soul. As I had hoped on your wedding day, you are making the world a more beautiful place for all of us. Thank you, both! Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

