Forward

Elected.

Elected.

I woke up at 5:00 AM today. I just couldn’t sleep.

Okay! I admit – I actually wake up at 5:00 AM a lot, because I fell asleep at 9:00 the night before and I’m actually rested. For some time now, I’ve been caught in a vicious cycle of lame sofa pass-outs and pre-dawn Words With Friends-ing under the covers in bed.

But today, if anything I should have been oversleeping. I was up way too late last night, drinking with friends and strangers alike at a bar in downtown Oakland, and I should have been scraping for every last precious wink.

Nope – I was up. Bright and early, on just a few hours of sleep, dehydrated, without proper nutrition.

Because today is the day I’ve been waiting for – for a while now.

Today is the day I start to let myself actually believe – maybe, just a teensy teensy bit – that the end days are not upon us. And I’ve been hungry to believe that, but I couldn’t – until now.

(Alright, alright, all you educated science friends – they’re probably still upon us, but maybe they’re a little farther off? DON’T KILL MY BUZZ!)

NOW, enough of us have come forward to demonstrate that all that talk of “hope” and “change” back in 2008 wasn’t a fluke. We can actually have change. We are having it, in spite of all the ugly death throes coming from the non-changers.

We are changing.

Today, on Day One of what I’m now calling the It-Ain’t-Over-Yet-Days, I’m reveling in the fact that I really do live in a country that decisively wants a black president. That wants gay people to be able to marry. That isn’t afraid to let women dominate the Senate (and is probably ready for a female prez, too). That won’t allow Roe v. Wade to be overturned. That doesn’t want the Dream Act repealed. That doesn’t think young people should just “borrow money from their parents” to make their dreams come true. That doesn’t think my 90-year-old grandparents should have to shop for their own health insurance on the open market. That doesn’t think I deserve to be bankrupt, just because I have Multiple Sclerosis.

That refuses to let our government be bought and sold by the superwealthy. They are the non-changers. And their day has passed.

And I actually have hope.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Forward

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Okay, the 5:00 a.m. thing may be an inherited tendency from your mother, who has a sleep disorder. But, aside from that, I was pretty tired yesterday morning, too, because I was up all night watching election results, and then up in the morning to watch the LOSERS tell their lies about why we won. Pathetic. But, on to more important things. Now your generation will have a chance to change the world because the “non-changers” got beat at the polls, fair and square. Suck it up, losers. Step aside and let people who understand what is really important in life, like health care and education and justice for all, take the lead. Hope and change. Now, back to work. And get some sleep tonight! Love, Mom

  2. lisatemp says:

    I got some sleep. 😉

    Tell Aunt Niecey to come to the inauguration with us, btw!

Leave a Reply

