Car: The Neverending Story

Mmm… I meant to write about other things first this week, but…

WeinterruptLisa’sanal-retentivebloggingscheduletobringyouthisimportantbizarroupdate!!!

CAR LIVES.

That’s right – back in August, when I wrote that Car was dead?

Nope. Not dead.

Car... Is that... YOU?

Car… Is that… YOU?

And yes, I cried when I heard the news (at work).

I know she’s alive because on Friday morning, I got a random phone call from a man named Mr. Hopkins. Mr. Hopkins was at the Oakland DMV, trying to register a 1997 black Toyota Corolla for his son, who needed it to get to his junior college classes. Only the DMV was giving him trouble — because the car was still registered in my name.

Ummm… ??? The car that I sold for $100 on trade-in, that was marked “UNSAFE TO DRIVE” and destined for the junkyard?

Yes, that car.

Many, many phone calls later, and Mr. Hopkins and I determined that San Leandro Hyundai had indeed sent Car to be junked, but the junkyard thought better of junking her. She’d been sold at auction instead…

…and bought by a shady dealer…

…who rolled back her mileage and illegally sold her without a proper bill of sale to Mr. Hopkins…

…who now insisted he didn’t care; he didn’t want his money back…

…he wanted Car no matter what; he and his brother had been fixing her up and they knew she was a good one and the son had fallen in love with her.

Sooo…

I found a nice girl at the dealership name Collette, who pledged to find a way to get Mr. Hopkins and his son a legal bill of sale. And I pledged to come sign anything that needed signing to get myself out of the equation, so Car could be reborn like a phoenix to carry yet another college kid and his buddies around on all their… adventures. Maybe even to graduation.

And now, there’s always a chance that I’ll see her on the streets of Oakland: like an old lover.

And I’ll cry, dammit. And probably harass the son and ask to have my picture taken with his car. And then I’ll post it here.

PROMISE.

Me_Car_CO

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Car: The Neverending Story

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    This is an awesome story of a girl and her car. That car has stories to tell, Lisa! I wonder if your lucky pine cone is still in the cup holder? I think that little car is going to have more stories to tell before this is over. I hope the new owner is successful. Then this will become the “never ending – happy ending” car story. Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

