Go Go San Diego

Now that the sun is shining daily and the weed growth is waning, we’re about to enter lockdown here at 3675 and return to nonstop weekends of yardwork.

You see, soon it will be barbecue season, and this year, I fully intend to take advantage of that. I’m getting this place in the perfect summer state we couldn’t enjoy last year, because it was a construction war zone until July.

And, we’re getting ready to turn our backyard into a “food forest” (with the expertise and guidance of Katy and Felipé), and trust me — there will be work involved with that. Lots of work (and lots of fretting, and cursing).

So, before saying goodbye to a winter of luxuriously relaxing tasks like obsessively shopping for rugs online in favor of a return to manual labor, I felt the need to go to San Diego and spend a weekend eating too many tacos and partying like a college kid.

Day drunk and tacotastic with Kim and the McMahons on Ocean Beach.

Day drunk and tacotastic with Kim and the McMahons on Ocean Beach.

Dude, bro! Yes — that’s exactly what I felt like doing before facing down Summer #2 in my 100-year-old house.

Kim was in SD this past weekend for work, so I flew down and we grabbed a hotel on Mission Beach. We hooked up with John and Ashley and we all enjoyed the best San Diego has to offer — meaning, tacos and beer (Kim and I also enjoyed a hot air balloon ride and some wild animals, too).

Hot air balloonin' over the San Diego Zoo's safari park in Escondido.

Hot air balloonin’ over the San Diego Zoo’s safari park in Escondido.

But alas, although it was fun, I was reminded that I’m not a college kid. I’m old (in fact, if I was my mother, I’d have an insane pubescent daughter of my own right now).

However! At least I’m an old person with a lovely old house to boot (soon to have its own food forest!). So, get ready folks… Here come a whole lotta posts about YARDWORK.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Go Go San Diego

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    I am glad you got a little R&R in one of the most beautiful places in the country, my home town of San Diego. I loved visiting my grandparents there when I was a kid. I think they settled there because the topography was similar to their homeland in Sicily. And you probably don’t remember your first visit to the San Diego animal park when you were only one year old. I think you liked the animals and you were very candid in your expressions of awe and disgust when confronting them up close.

    As for “day drunk and tacotastic”, man I sure wish I could that one more time before I die. Lisa, you certainly know how to keep the balance in life. I am glad that you can resort to former rituals and enjoy them, if only for a short while. That is correct. When I was your age I was waxing the furniture and fretting over whether you would come home on time. However, I enjoyed every minute of it.

    I am looking forward to the adventure of “food forest”. There is no doubt in my mind that you and Trent will have an organic grocery store back there before the season has passed. When an awesome and wonderful use of your time and energy. Do you remember my wedding toast? I just know that you two will make your small corner of the world a better and more beautiful place. I can wait to see and smell and taste and touch it. It is going to be wonderful!

    Love,

    MI Mom

  2. lisatemp says:

    I was very candid in my expressions of awe and disgust? I don’t believe that!

Leave a Reply

