Morning After

It’s a sad day.

Louisville 82, Michigan 76.

Louisville 82, Michigan 76.

Michigan did not win last night.

I have a basketball hangover, but worse than that, the end of the Wolverines’ season stirred up a great quantity of emotion in me.

Emotion that was not all just about basketball, obviously.

Emotion that I probably should have expressed 20 years ago, but I didn’t because I was… a teenager. Sigh.

The truth is, I still don’t know how to express everything I’m feeling: about the team, my father, those last days of his life… About why I wanted this win so badly.

I don’t know why I believe in my heart of hearts that if Michigan had won 20 years ago, things might have been different for him… It might have raised his spirits and he might have lived just a little bit longer… He might have even had an incredible, prognosis-defying rally, set to the tune of One Shining Moment!

I don’t know why I feel like Michigan needs to win the title now, after all these years, to even have some closure about my father’s death… I never really admitted that I still needed closure until now.

I mean, it seems a little silly, I know.

But I do know I can at least say this…

Thank you, Trey Burke, Mitch McGary, Nik Stauskas, Glenn Robinson III, Tim Hardaway Jr. – ALL OF YOU – for doing mostly as I asked. You did not take home that trophy, but you did play like champions. And you did not call any timeouts you didn’t have (thank God). You could do a little better channeling Rumeal Robinson, but I expect you will – next year. When you’re older and wiser and make your second run.

And don’t forget this story, because it’s not over. You have to end it.

Dad_Lisa_GoBlue.jpg

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Morning After

  1. CA Mom says:

    It’s good to let it out… sorry they didn’t win… it was pretty obvious they just ran out of fuel and then time!

    Maybe next year! Hugs!!!

  2. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    And it is not silly to feel what you are feeling. This game was a way to stay connected to your dad, which you are. Getting closure is vital to the human spirit. You have done that today. You have found a way to let go and stay connected. Winning wasn’t important. Playing like champions is all that matters, and they did. Your dad always played like a champion, and he respected others who did. Remember Teddy Roosevelt’s speech about the man in the arena? Well, those boys were in the arena that night and they won, regardless of the score. Your dad is out of the arena and on to better things. But he will be watching to see what the basketball boys do next year, because he never, ever gave up on life. And your boys won’t give up on basketball. I bet you they will win. And what a great time that will be! Love, MI Mom

  3. Marge Wisniewski says:

    You need to send this to the U of M team. Maybe they will win one for Tim. Seriously!! Love, MI Mom

  4. Ellen says:

    Audrey needs a M sweater like that one, love it!!
    Thanks for posting such raw and real stuff.

  5. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Lisa, you “attack” every great idea that you ever get. Hence the beautiful garden, the gorgeous house, and the well trained dog. If you decide to knit, I suspect we will all have hand made U of M sweaters for Christmas!

  6. Denise says:

    Another great Blog, Lisa. I think about your dad often. We all miss him so much! We were just talking with Jeremy the other day about Tim being his godfather. At Briana and Dave’s wedding this last saturday they played the Michigan Fight song as they entered the reception. Great moment!!! They have got to WIN it next year for TIM!!!!

Leave a Reply

