Flower Power

Our flowers are OUTTA CONTROL!

If this were 17th century Holland, I’d be a scary-looking rich lady in a black dress and a puffy white collar right now.

L: Dutch Trent. R: Dutch Lisa.

L: Dutch Trent. R: Dutch Lisa.

God. I’m sure that went WAY over all your heads. Sorry — I’m still an art historian at heart and partly in my profession. Read this book if you want to decode that statement. Or better yet, don’t pay $130 for it – borrow it from me. Or just ignore all this geeky nonsense and look at pics of my beautiful flowers…

Climbing Roses!

Climbing Roses!

Irises! (the ones that were WAY unhappy when we moved in)

Irises! (the ones that were WAY unhappy when we moved in)

Calla Lilies! (so many, these like, aren't even exciting any more...)

Calla Lilies! (so many, these like, aren’t even exciting any more…)

Lilacs! (these smell RAD!)

Lilacs! (these smell RAD!)

Double Delight Roses! (I now know what KIND of roses I have, too...)

Double Delight Roses! (I now know what KIND of roses I have, too…)

Next up, I will make my own flower painting… Wait for it…

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Flower Power

  1. CA Mom says:

    Tell Trent he’s married his Grandmother!!!! The flowers are wonderful keep the pics coming.

  2. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    I know that the Dutch masters used a lot of flowers in their paintings, right? I expect to see these versions re-visited with a Trent face, a Lisa face and some flowers added. I suspect that I will never look at flowers the same way again. They are so beautiful it looks like you can reach into the photo and pick them. I will enjoy a vase full when I get there! Love, MI Mom

  3. dtswampa says:

    Wonderful garden! I’m hoping the snow stops falling long enough for a few flowers to grow this summer – your head start has me excited.

Leave a Reply

