Friday Flashback: Vol. III

So I think after this I’ll probably only flash back on the occasional Friday; maybe one Friday a month or so. I mean, I can’t have every other post on this blog be a flashback, because that’s just gonna end up being waaayyy too embarrassing for this moi.

But, last week I said I’d be back this week, and I‘m nothing if not predictable dependable, so here it is…

FLASHBACK:

Lisa_14thBday.jpg

My 14th birthday party, 1992. There are a lot of braces in this photo. And I’m still in touch, sans Facebook, with several of these girls, and their teeth all look great now.

Gaaahhh… Ha ha. Man, I REALLY loved Express French Country Style back then. I don’t know what I was thinking. I had at least four of those “ribbed tunics,” in slightly different luminescent jewel tones. AND I LOVED THEM ALL EQUALLY.

But really, I picked this photo because Cindy Phillips Weflen – the babe with the black bouffant in front – was really on my mind this week. She’s getting pretty prego by now over in Boston, and I’m on my way to visit her and her super groovy Harvard PhD hubby next month. When I heard about the bombings at the Boston Marathon and the subsequent cinematic firefight in the streets of Cambridge, I immediately wondered if…

  1. The Weflen family was all safely out of the danger zone (along with my myriad other friends in Boston/Cambridge, like MC Eddo and Downtown Julie Brown)
  2. Baby Weflen had tried to bust outta her mama early, apprehend the bomber, and whoop some terrorist ass…

…because that’s just what a mini-Cindy would do. Probably dressed like a ninja.

Turns out, all are safe (yay!), and Baby W is still incubating according to plan. And I’m crazy excited to see the whole fam – Mom, Dad, and Unborn – in one month.

I may even pick up some sweet “vintage” 90s wear for the occasion.

I’ll return with more braces-and-bad-fashion-nostalgia in two to three Fridays.

Tagged , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Friday Flashback: Vol. III

  1. Cindy says:

    Can’t wait to see you in May!!! Man, my hair was somethin’ else back then. Gotta love those 90’s!!

  2. Julie says:

    Awesome picture, Lisa!!! Man, we all look soooo young….like babies! How is it possible that more than 20 years have passed since then??? I hope you’re well, Lisa! So glad to hear everything is okay with you and your family, Cindy!

  3. dtswampa says:

    This is a quality picture. I would have met most of you guys during that year – freshman year at good ol’ NHS. Like Julie said – how is it possible its been that long? I’m thinking Cindy should most definitely bring back the hairstyle. Just this week, I was showing my students how we used to roll our jeans in the early 90’s, and we looked up Skidz overalls as a class activity. Good times – thanks for sharing, Lisa 🙂

  4. Marge Wisniewski says:

    Twenty years sure does fly by fast, doesn’t it? Cherish these moments because soon YOUR kids will be fourteen years old and, who knows? Maybe French Country Express will be back in style. Glad to hear that everyone is safe! Enjoy life! Love, Mom

  5. Nicole McCloud says:

    Lisa – you haven’t aged at all! Not that you still look 14 but the years have been good to you! I love the picture. That’s exactly how I remember everyone! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

