35

This is me (on the right) at 35: the age I turned this past weekend…

Me and Marlene, drinking celebratory birthday beers in the sunshine at Telegraph.

Me and Marlene, drinking celebratory birthday beers in the sunshine at Telegraph.

I had a vastly different birthday weekend than last year. Last year, I moved out of my apartment on Thursday, and into my first house on Friday. On Saturday (my actual birthday) I worked all day at my full-time job, and I unpacked all day and night for the rest of the weekend otherwise. Except that very same Marlene up there managed to get me to stop for a few moments and relax with a few friends…

Marlene, Trent, and Tim in the backyard at sunset.

34th birthday night, 2012, under the shade of the scaffolding…

This year, I researched (compulsively) a few deck and yard projects for the house after coming home from work on Friday night. Otherwise, I did nothing but enjoy my life for the rest of the weekend. I spent Saturday at the Telegraph with my friends, drinking beer and being completely unproductive. I retired home with some of them to have an impromptu barbecue that night, with NO scaffolding in the way. Sunday I celebrated the engagement of two good friends. More sun – lots more sun…

Lisa's Birthday, by Caravaggio. c. 2013

Lisa’s Birthday, by Caravaggio. c. 2013

Don and Emma at their engagement party, on my actual birthday: Sunday, June 2nd.

Don and Emma at their engagement party, on my actual birthday: SUNday, June 2nd.

What I’m left with after this weekend is…

My life has had some tremendous ups and downs in terms of work and stress levels this past year. I am in a much quieter place than I was a year ago – and thank god for that. Thank god for no more dry rot, leaking ceiling, sewer lateral compliance, scaffold that never comes down, etc., etc. (for now, at least)…

But the richness and quality of my friendships has not diminished. And thank god for that, too. Because those friends are a big part of what makes my life worth living.

A house is not a home without the people to put in it.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “35

  1. victrola72 says:

    Oh, I missed your birthday; I suck!! Happy Birthday and yay to unscaffolded houses!

  2. victrola72 says:

    This is Viola! I never log in to my ancient and unused wordpress account and yet sometimes it logs me in anyway…

  3. CA Mom says:

    Well, I echo the Oh, we missed your Birthday, we really suck! So sorry and I hope it was wonderful. I’ll do my best to get your gift mailed this week – belated hugs to you – HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! CA Mom

  4. Marge Wisniewski says:

    Happy Birthday! You are richly blessed with friends and with family who love you. I hope that grows with every year that you add to a full and interesting life. Love, MI Mom

  5. Sorry we missed it – see you soon!!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

