20

My dad died 20 years ago today. July 1, 1993.

He had been at home on hospice care for a month or so by then. It was around 5:00 AM when my mom woke me to tell me there was an ambulance outside, waiting to take him back to the hospital. I got up only to give her the lucky stuffed parrot I always made sure was in his hospital room with him. Then I went back to sleep; I had pom pon practice at 7:00 AM up at school, and after that, driver’s ed class just down the hall.

About five hours later, they called me out of class over the PA; my mom was on the phone. She told me things were not going well at the hospital and they were coming to get me; it was important that I come see dad. I gathered my things quickly and waited outside with my friend, Carrie Dalziel. I vividly remember sitting on the low wall leading up to the office entrance, nervously wrapping and unwrapping my gym bag handle around my wrist over and over again.

It was a hot, sticky day, but I was too anxious to go back inside the air conditioned building. A bad feeling had been brewing since I left the house that morning. When I came downstairs, everything was so quiet, so still… The place where my father had been sleeping, on the living room couch (he was too weak to make it upstairs to bed), looked frighteningly bare. Instantly I realized I’d made a mistake, not waking up to say goodbye in person. Not giving him a kiss and telling him I loved him as I handed him the parrot myself…

Of course all my fears were justified when I saw it wasn’t my mother’s car, come to retrieve me. It was Chris Bohm’s: one of my father’s best buddies from the plant. He was driving, but he didn’t smile when he saw me. My Aunt Julie was in the front seat; she got out of the car and came toward me with her arms outstretched and I could see she was crying, but she said nothing. I remember standing there, clutching my gym bag and looking back and forth between her and Carrie, silent, close behind me. No one spoke the words, but I knew what had happened.

Turns out my mother was in the backseat of Chris’ car, waiting for me. She had the courage to tell me dad was gone; he had died of a blood clot in his lung (a final complication of an aggressive cancer he’d managed to battle back for years). They had done absolutely everything they could for him. I remember asking if I could see him, but it was too late, she told me – it had happened a few hours ago. I thought about my futile gesture of the stuffed parrot, probably in a ziploc in some sterile morgue drawer by then. And I leaned against my mother, and cried the only tears I think I cried that day as I asked, “Who’s going to take care of us now?”

I don’t remember what my mother answered. Truth is, over the past 20 years, there have been many answers to that question. And I’ve tried to remember a lot about that day, but I don’t remember everything. 20 years dulls a lot of pain, but it also fades a lot of memories. It’s hard to hold onto one without the other.

It used to be I wanted things to fade. I didn’t want to cry. I didn’t want to feel sad. But then you look around, and 20 years have gone by, and you realize you need those memories. You actually need that pain or it will all slip away.

I’m fighting as hard as I can now to hold onto everything I have left about my dad. Even the tragic parts about how I lost him – I’m willing to cry to keep them.

So I cried a lot today, but it’s okay – really.

I’m just remembering. Something I always want to do.

••••••••••••••••••••

Today my uncle died, but in my heart he will always be alive.
He was a very caring man. He could do a lot of things.
My uncle loved all of his family. He liked football, not as much as he loved us.
I wish that he was still alive, because I wanted to show him how I felt about him.
My aunt must be very sad now. I hope that she feels better.

I love Tim.

By Nick Spade

July 1, 1993

••••••••••••••••••••

TFW: December 4, 1953 - July 1, 1993

TFW: December 4, 1953 – July 1, 1993

Tagged , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “20

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Thank you for the memories, Lisa. I had forgotten most of that day. You are right. Memories should never go away. Even the sad ones. Because without them, we lose your dad forever. You have created a wonderful picture of that day, and it is important for us to remember all of it. So we can keep him alive in our memories. Love, Mom

  2. Laurie H says:

    My heart goes out to you, Lisa. You have such vivid memories. Sometimes I try to forget memories like that. Thank you for the reminder to hold on to them.

  3. Carla says:

    That was a beautiful piece of writing Lisa. Your Dad was lucky to have you. Big HUG.

  4. Denise Zlonkevicz says:

    Very sad memories stay with us for ever. They just hang on to your heart. Thank you for sharing yours with us Lisa!

  5. Denise Zlonkevicz says:

    We Love and miss you TFW!!!!!!!

  6. Zoe says:

    This is so beautiful, Lisa. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Ellen says:

    Love you Lisa

  8. Nicole McCloud says:

    hugs xoxo

  9. […] grandfather was only four when his father died, so he might have indeed been really little! Having lost my own father young – but at least old enough to be in driver’s ed at the time – I fully respect his epic […]

  10. […] I remember the morning my father died very clearly. I remember my mother coming in my bedroom at 5:00 AM, telling me they were taking dad to the hospital. I remember my decision NOT to get up and say goodbye to him. A decision I made in fear, in sadness, or in just plain sleepiness – I don’t know. But I made it. […]

  11. […] away on July 4th, and then only a few years later my own father – their son – died on the 1st. We buried him on the 4th, in the sticky, sickly humid Michigan summer. It was the worst, saddest day of my life, despite the […]

  12. […] But he couldn’t beat it. In the end he died a brutal, gruesome, unfair, painful death. He suffered. He didn’t complain, but he did suffer. We had to watch it. As much as my mother tried to shield it from my sister and I, we saw it. At least, I saw it. I think over the years I tried to convince myself that I didn’t see it, but… […]

Leave a Reply

