Thankful

This is almost true. If only you hadn't elected Rick Snyder. And the snow thing...

This is almost true. If only you hadn’t elected Rick Snyder. And the snow thing…

We just returned a couple nights ago from a long Thanksgiving trip to Michigan, to visit my family and friends for the holiday.

It’s been a while since we were in Michigan for any holidays – we passed on Thanksgiving and Christmas last year in favor of a stopover on our way home from the presidential inauguration in January – and I missed it all much more than I thought I had. More than I swore I would. Even my family’s brand of laid-back, microwaved-turkey, pajama-clad holiday celebrations. And Michigan’s freezing cold weather.

And this year things were even extra laid-back, as my grandma spent it in a nursing home, recovering from a nasty fall which left her with a fractured pelvis. My grandpa gets up at 5:00 AM to trek over there before sunrise and sit by her side all day, every day. We couldn’t quite get up that early, but we did make it there almost every day to watch the two of them hold hands, eat off each other’s plates, and chat about their favorite judge shows…

Ain't no party like a Spade party!

Ain’t no party like a Spade party!

We missed visiting one day, though, because we went to Ann Arbor overnight, to see all my friends from college and to wake up early for the Michigan/Ohio State game. But Grandma understood – there was an epic college football rivalry demanding our attention. And 113,500+ people we needed to hang out with, a few of whom I needed to party with like it was 1999 and I was 21. Literally.

Hmm... It doesn't look like 1999 any more, but it feels like it to me! At least until the next morning!

Hmm… It doesn’t look like 1999 any more, but it feels like it to me! At least until the next morning!

Hang on… It’s just too good…

<<CLICK>>

Anyway, awesome Prince jams aside, there was nothing really elaborate or even traditionally “Thanksgiving” about this trip. We didn’t even really have Thanksgiving dinner. But somehow, it made me feel more grateful than I have in a while for my life and all the people in it. I guess sometimes microwaved food, old people holding hands in nursing homes, and waking up hungover in your best friend’s two-year-old’s bed will do that.

And college football. I will always be grateful for college football.

Priscilla the flat-coat retriever is uber grateful for Loret! Thanksgiving night at Aunt Niecey and Uncle Jeff's.

Priscilla the flat-coat retriever is uber grateful for Loret! Thanksgiving night at Aunt Niecey and Uncle Jeff’s.

17 years later, I still make bad decisions with her.

17 years later, I still make bad decisions with her.

You never forget that feeling...

You never forget that feeling…

I cooked my family Italian food on Sunday. Because it's not what you cook or when you cook it – it's who you cook it for.

I cooked my family Italian food on Sunday. Because it’s not what you cook or when you cook it – it’s who you cook it for.

••••••••••••••••••••

See all our pics of Thanksgiving in Michigan here.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Congratulations on embracing the true spirit of the holidays! It’s not about the food or the gifts or the places you go. It’s about who you do all those things with. We have never been a “traditional” family, and we do not celebrate the holidays in a traditional way. But, we celebrate them with love and laughter and family and friends (although we still do the “football thing”), and we build memories that will last a lifetime. (I wish I could party like it was 1999!) Thank you for celebrating with us. Please come back soon! Love, Mom

  2. Denise says:

    So true Lisa and Trent. It was so great seeing you both for Thanksgiving! The dinner you so carefully handmade for us was delicious. I think I could have sat all night and just talked and laughed with you both. Can’t wait to see you again. Love, Aunt Niecey

  3. Anna says:

    …2 year olds BUNK BED 🙂 Love it! So much fun and I swear I am still hungover.

Leave a Reply

