For the Love of Cheese

Lisa_Pizza

Memories of cheese: 2013.

As of today, it’s one month until the best day of the year (which, let’s be honest – is actually now the best weekend of the year)…

Cheese Day.

I can’t believe it’s been a year already. Almost a year – still one month to go! And, extra exciting – this year’s celebrations will take place in a land far cheesier than this one…

Chicago.

The flights are booked, the local friends have been informed. The girlfriends have been recruited to accompany, the perfect accommodations have been secured for all.

Now all that’s left to do is daydream about the menu for the next four weeks…

Deep dish pizza with extra cheese, such as this excellent specimen from Pequod's. Sans the sausage, of course, because it IS only CHEESE day.

Deep dish pizza with extra cheese, such as this excellent specimen from Pequod’s. Sans the sausage, of course, because it IS only CHEESE day.

Buttery potato and cheese pierogis with sour cream to satisfy my genetics, like these beauties from Podhalanka, where we took Trent for his first Polish food ever.

Buttery potato and cheese pierogis with sour cream to satisfy my genetics, like these beauties from Podhalanka, where we took Trent for his first Polish food ever.

Crappy hangover grilled cheese from the Billy Goat. Because I haven't had one in 15 years. And it reminds of me of good times.

Crappy hangover grilled cheese from the Billy Goat. Because I haven’t had one in 15 years. And it reminds of me of good times.

Now, we’ll also eat some more dignified things, I’m sure. I’ve heard/know this stuff is all good:

This is the Wisconsin Cheddar + Cantal mac n' cheese from The Bluebird. I'm apt to try it just because it keeps with the Midwest theme.

This is the Wisconsin Cheddar + Cantal mac n’ cheese from The Bluebird. I’m apt to try it just because it keeps with the Midwest theme.

I've been wanting to do fondue on cheese day for a while, and this place – Geja's – is supposed to be good. BONUS: it's "romantic." Aaaand, also cheesy. In more ways than one.

I’ve been wanting to do fondue on cheese day for a while, and this place – Geja’s – is supposed to be good. BONUS: it’s “romantic.” Aaaand, also cheesy. In more ways than one.

Potato gruyere croquettes from the Hopleaf Bar – a fave spot of mine.

Potato gruyere croquettes from the Hopleaf Bar – a fave spot of mine.

Plus, there will CERTAINLY be some old favorites. Stuff like…

Grayson!

Grayson!

Morbier!

Morbier!

Taleggio!

Taleggio!

Toma!

Toma!

(all available from Pastoral Artisan Cheese on North Broadway)

Arrrggghhh. Loooooonnnggg month ahead.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “For the Love of Cheese

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    I am going to make myself a cheese sandwich……….

  2. CA-Mom says:

    Okay, now I’m hungry!!! Stop that!

  3. Ellen says:

    OMGeeeeeeee!! What a delicious tummy ache! I went to a fondue party recently and was able to stick to the broth pot and still enjoy my self, and sleep well that night 🙂

  4. It isnt looking good for me to come but this makes me want cheese now! K-rice LOVES Hopleaf!

  5. Viola says:

    I hate to harsh on a place, but (and granted, this was 2006) I went to Geja’s and haaaaated it. I don’t think you’d like it either, to be honest. I know for a fact that you hate it when your only menu option is the 15 dollar fruit plate. It’s like that, except you’ll find yourself paying $30 for some melted cheese and stale bread and generic chocolate sauce.

Leave a Reply

