Second Job

SanVito_Sea

If travel agents still had any hope of gainful full-time employment, I’d be changing jobs right now.

I just planned a two-week trip to Sicily for 9 people featuring…

  • Coordinated airfare from three different departure cities
  • An itinerary with five stops
  • Two private villa rentals
  • Private transportation everywhere on the island

In one week flat. Booked and paid for. For almost $1500 less per person than everyone budgeted. And, I might add, I did it in the “spare time” left over from my 60-hour-a-week job. Spare time in which I also serve as a construction manager for my house and a special events planner for my bosses.

So why did I do it? It wasn’t for me. The vacations I give myself rarely exceed four days and usually don’t involve more than someone’s spare room and a whole lotta beer. I haven’t been on a two-week vacation since my honeymoon three years ago.

I did it for her – duh:

Margie.

Margie.

My mom.

She turns 60 next month, and she deserves the trip of a lifetime to celebrate. So I’m taking her to her homeland, per her request. With her friends and family. In style.

(but the smart kind of style – not the kind that puts you in the poorhouse!)

Someone had to do it for her, and I’m glad it could be me. Since we won’t be back until May, I’ll save the jaw-dropping pics of my family’s ancestral seaside home until then: the sparkling turquoise water, the pristine white sand beaches snuggled between jagged rock outcrops, the ancient stone villages frozen in time.

For now, we’ll just focus on how awesome Margie – a.k.a. “Munga” – is, and how worthy she is of my overtime.

(and I won’t even get into the raising-us-on-her-own-when-she-was-widowed-in-her-30s thing…)

Munga on New Year's Eve at Sarge and Skip's in BFE Florida.

Munga on New Year’s Eve at Sarge and Skip’s in BFE Florida.

Munga and Russ sampling oysters in Tomales Bay.

Munga and Russ sampling oysters in Tomales Bay.

Munga with the haul from her Christmas deep sea fishing trip in the Gulf.

Munga with the haul from her Christmas deep sea fishing trip in the Gulf.

Munga loves sushi! Sort of...

Munga loves sushi! Sort of…

Munga with our bud, Nick the bartender from Murio's on Haight Street.

Munga with our bud, Nick the bartender from Murio’s on Haight Street.

Munga taking a dip in Yosemite Falls.

Munga taking a dip in Yosemite Falls.

Munga, Carla, and Lisa in the lobby of Detroit's Guardian Building.

Munga, Carla, and Lisa in the lobby of Detroit’s Guardian Building.

Munga exploring the Big Trees during her trip to the Mariposa Grove for Mother's Day.

Munga exploring the Big Trees during her trip to the Mariposa Grove for Mother’s Day.

Munga and the San Francisco boys.

Munga and the San Francisco boys.

Munga and Trent at Harry's in Bayfiend, Ontario. The night of Trent's epic first adventure in Canadian beer.

Munga and Trent at Harry’s in Bayfiend, Ontario. The night of Trent’s epic first adventure in Canadian beer.

Lisa and Munga, out on the town.

Lisa and Munga, out on the town.

You get it? Worth it.

Hopefully your kid will feel that way about you some day.

Happy last month of your 50s, Munga – you’re going to Sicily…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 thoughts on “Second Job

  1. Mary Granata says:

    AWESOME!! I need to remember to send you the pictures I have of your mom too. Like her dancing in Mexico, golfing, kayaking …. She definitely knows how to have a good time!! I am so blessed to call her one of my best friends. If anyone deserves a celebration, she does and it looks like you have a wonderful trip planned! Can’t wait to see the pictures. Hugs

  2. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    And, hopefully, you will feel the same way I feel about my kids, some day. I am the luckiest mom on the face of the earth.

    I can look back on the times spent with my children, my family and my friends and know that I have been blessed. I don’t mind going another 60, if I have all of you with me.

    It has been pretty darn good.

    Thank you!

    And love you!

  3. Dicky says:

    So happy for you all and Munga.

    Happy travels! And if you need an app to manage your itineries, don’t forget to try TripIt (shameless plug) and let me know how it goes…

  4. Carla says:

    Happy travels Munga!!! You are going to have an amazing time with your amazing daughter that should have been a travel agent if technology didn’t make that job nearly obsolete. Yay, happy happy birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Where in Sicily will you be travelling?

  6. Kathryn says:

    So wonderful!! Love your mom. Enjoy your trip!

  7. […] To which we think we will certainly return often in our lifetime together, and celebrate more anniversaries in the future (not to mention, whatever birthdays Munga keeps kicking around for). […]

Leave a Reply

