And the trophy goes to…

Julie Brown (for Third Place)!

Let’s be real, though – third place is an awesome honor in this contest.

I’m talking about the World Championships of Friends Who Visit Lisa. In this illustrious (ongoing) event, Julie just cemented her position by coming to visit from Boston yet again this past weekend. In the World Championships of Friends Who Visit Julie, I don’t think I’m in third place – which is why she’s even more awesome. But hey – I’m up and coming. So WATCH OUT!

JULIE IN SF, 2014! With her boyfriend, Adam. Oyster happy hour!

JULIE IN SF, 2014! With her boyfriend, Adam. Oyster happy hour!

JULIE IN SF, 2009! PBR at Murio's!

JULIE IN SF, 2009! PBR at Murio’s!

JULIE IN SF, 2007! Top of some swanky hotel... Damn, that was a long time ago.

JULIE IN SF, 2007! Top of some swanky hotel… Damn, that was a long time ago.

So… Who’s in second place? FIRST PLACE, you’re wondering?

Well, they definitely deserve a little homage, too. Especially because they’re gonna be hard to catch.

Oh – and just to be clear, family members of Lisa are not eligible to participate in the World Championships of Friends Who Visit Lisa. Sorry, Munga.

After careful calculations, I give you…

SECOND PLACE: John McMahon

This guy’s visits have gone from rockstar ragers to couples’ weekends, but I look forward to them all the same. Maybe even more so. HSB 2014, Mic?

JOHN IN SF (well, Oakland), 2013! Look how grown up we are now – we hang out on our decks.

JOHN IN SF (well, Oakland), 2013! Look how grown up we are now – we hang out on our decks.

JOHN IN SF, 2010! Hardly strictly your average corndog.

JOHN IN SF, 2010! Hardly strictly your average corndog.

JOHN IN SF, 2007! First time at the Golden Gate overlook.

JOHN IN SF, 2007! First time at the Golden Gate overlook.

FIRST PLACE: Kim Dabbs

I’m not even sure how many times she’s been to visit – on her own, with her sweet hubby, with her kids, for business, for whatever – it feels like she only lives an hour away as opposed to 2,500 miles. Which is why she’s one of the best friends I’ve ever had.

KIM IN OAKLAND, 2013 – PART 1! Cheese Day with my bestie!

KIM IN OAKLAND, 2013 – PART 1! Cheese Day with my bestie!

KIM IN OAKLAND, 2013 – PART 2! A night of living dangerously.

KIM IN OAKLAND, 2013 – PART 2! A night of living dangerously.

KIM IN SF, 2011! Running the National MS Society marathon in my honor.

KIM IN SF, 2011! Running the National MS Society marathon in my honor.

KIM IN SF, 2010! Trekking the entire Dabbs family through the Mission.

KIM IN SF, 2010! Trekking the entire Dabbs family through the Mission.

Now, I said they were gonna be hard to catch, but not impossible – so for those of you who’ve been slacking off (*cough* Anna Beattie), this is your chance to get your visit sprint on.

I’ve got a gleaming trophy with your name on it. Or not. But I do have mad skills at weekending with visiting friends!

And great weather!

And a cute dog!

xoxo

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “And the trophy goes to…

  1. Kim Dabbs says:

    YAY!!! And I am going to be out there again in April…can’t wait to see you soon…

  2. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Even though I am disqualified from participating in the contest, that will not stop me from coming to visit!

  3. […] of the best things about 2015 so far is the fact that I have Kim with me here in the Bay Area for the next 3 […]

  4. […] this year, it so happened that Julie Brown came to […]

  5. […] I just knew it would come to pass… Julie, Zac, and I now all basically live in the same city. It’s been a long 17 years of […]

Leave a Reply

