36

I turned 36 yesterday. June 2, 2014. On the backslide to 40: good lord.

I don’t know how it happened so fast – I swear I just turned 16, and all of a sudden 20 years went by. Damn.

Me, age 16, with my Number 1 Fan. At least some things never change...

Me, age 16, with my Number 1 Fan. At least some things never change…

But though I’ve been known to get down on the idea of getting older, and lament how fast the past few years have flown by, I really have absolutely nothing to complain about. I have pretty much the best life I could ask for. I never dreamed it would be so good.

So I will shut the f#@% up about wanting to be 22 again, I promise. I had the most lovely birthday yesterday. My family was good to me, my team at work was amazing to me (thanks for the vegan creole food! and the vegan cake! and the champagne!), I heard from all the people I care about, and my day ended on the couch with the World’s Greatest Husband and the World’s Greatest Pup.

And as the World’s Greatest Husband wrote to me in my birthday card (a card which, per usual, brought me to tears in public so – thanks for that yet again, WGH)…

“What happens next?”

Short answer (because the card really is just for me):

Everything awesome.

Me, age 36. And my World's Greatest Family. Bring on awesome!

Me, age 36. And my World’s Greatest Family. Bring on awesome!

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “36

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    I will always be your number one fan! Some of the best times of my life were spent in the bleachers at the pom pon competitions. Even though I know that you do not want to be 22 again, I wish I could go back and do it over. It was fun to watch you grow up. And was I lying when I told you that 20 years would fly by? Now you are saying the same things I have been saying to you (watch out, you are turning into a geezer already)!

    Yes, you have a pretty darn good life. Better than most. Now go enjoy the start of your 36th year with the WGH and the WGP and some good food and good friends. These are the gifts of greatest value. We will be watching to see “what happens next”.

  2. lisatemp says:

    YOU JUST CALLED ME A GEEZER!

  3. Viola says:

    You’ve always been a bit of a geezer at heart, Lisa! ❤

Leave a Reply

