Refocus

I’m in the middle of an EXCEPTIONALLY FRUSTRATING home improvement project right now. One which should have been over a while ago.

One now involving people it never needed to involve, only I was stupid-nice and offered people work when they asked for it. Work I COULD have done myself.

NOTE TO SELF: Don’t be stupid-nice. Don’t take a break, ever. No matter how bad you want one. Even if contractors fall out of the sky asking for work doing the VERY JOB you’re standing in your kitchen procrastinating on starting.

JUST FOLLOW YOUR OWN MANTRA AND FORGO ALL FOOD AND DRINK AND SLEEP AND FUN UNTIL EVERYTHING IS DONE AND PERFECT, DAMMIT.

This Exceptionally Frustrating Home Improvement Project (officially now dubbed the EFHIP) has now cost me money. Not a lot of money, but money I never needed to spend. AND I HATE WASTING MONEY! In my world, money is for spending on things that either…

1. Achieve goals on the Master Temple Plan
2. Ensure I have an epically awesome good time of some sort (usually involving beer)

NOT TO CLEAN UP MESSES THAT NEVER WOULD HAVE OCCURRED HAD I CONTINUED TO BE THE NOT-THAT-NICE-PERSON I USUALLY AM.

So, long story short, the EFHIP has put me in a very bad mood for the last four days. Therefore, I’m engaging in a refocus…

Here goes…

HEY! I’m going to have a lot of REALLY DELICIOUS heirloom tomatoes shortly. Everyone should come and admire my tomato-growing prowess.

Black Truffle heirlooms, comin' up fast! Just a few more weeks to ripen. At least they're not affected by degrees of niceness or meanness.

Black Truffle heirlooms, comin’ up fast! Just a few more weeks to ripen. At least they’re not affected by degrees of niceness or meanness.

 

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Refocus

  1. CA-MOM says:

    So exactly what was this project???? Not growing Heirloom Tomatoes; cause I don’t know Contractors who plant tomatoes???

    Glad you are refocusing …. cause that’s a good thing!

    Happy Summer – CA Mom

  2. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    I was going to ask the same question. Re-focusing is a most productive and therapeutic approach to a frustrating problem (I use it frequently). As for home improvement projects, every time I start one it becomes and EFHIP! Welcome to the club! By the way, I like that headliner photo (yard looks great), and the beautiful tomatoes! We “look” at your garden every night on the I-Pad. Getting the bug to work on my new little fruit trees. I actually thought about planting something the other day. First, I fall in love with dogs, and now I am talking about planting things. Never say never! Mom

  3. Carla says:

    I like your money rule number 2.

  4. […] past Saturday morning, instead of fretting and sweating over the EFHIP – WHICH IS STILL NOT FINISHED, MIND YOU – Trent and I decided to do something more […]

  5. […] 3, WHEREIN LISA DECIDES TO BE STUPID-NICE (also known as “The Part Where Shit Really Gets F#@%ed […]

Leave a Reply

