Little Sis / Big Day

Sarah_Lisa_Wedding.jpg

It seems like just yesterday I wrote on here how excited I was about my little sister starting her graduate school odyssey at American University’s Washington College of Law.

Turns out that WASN’T just yesterday, since in just a few days, we’re headed home to celebrate her graduation and new job with the United States Department of Justice by blowing up a rooftop in downtown Detroit with an “intimate” gathering of – oh, like a couple hundred people. You know, the way we do in my family.

And by “blow up,” of course I mean just “party really hard.” Though yes, we do like to blow up buildings in Detroit.

*WINK * *FIST POUND *

So, I have just three more days to write the perfect “Lisawiz” graduation bash speech (we’re also big on speeches in this family of mine, in case you haven’t had the pleasure of experiencing any of our oratory skills). I will proudly deliver this speech with a cold Labbatt in hand, whilst we all gaze down from our perch above Woodward Avenue at the city that birthed Sarah Jane, put her through some serious trials, and turned her into the whip-smart, badass, hardworking, woman of the people and defender of the little guy she is (with the world’s highest integrity index).

You should all feel incredibly lucky she’s joined our Federal government. It now has at least one shred of dignity.

I’ll find a more eloquent way to say all that before Saturday night – in time for my Labbatt – but until then, I’m scouring through all my favorite old pics of Little Sarah and Little Lisa to inspire me and thought I’d share them here. This may now be the only reason she DOESN’T become president some day but – oh well.

Enjoy.

This is Saroots and I blowin' up my 6th birthday party. Aw yeah.

This is Saroots and I blowin’ up my 6th birthday party at Burger King. Aw yeah.

Once upon a time, before we developed any sense of self-expression.

Once upon a time… Before we developed any sense of self-expression.

This is us blowin' up Saroots' birthday party in the basement. I'm pretty sure dad let us use the "pool lighting."

This is us blowin’ up Saroots’ birthday party in the basement. I’m pretty sure dad let us use the “billiard lighting.”

This is before we knew any better.

This is before we knew any better.

This is us in a matching outfit I can still get behind.

This is us in a matching outfit I can still get behind.

Self expression at last!

Self expression at last!

Or not...

Or not…

And yet we still managed to become this.

And yet we still managed to become this.

And this...

And this…

And this...

And this…

This, too, of course. <3

This, too, of course. ❤

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Little Sis / Big Day

  1. everythingbasil says:

    I totally remember those Burger King crowns!!!

  2. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Beautiful. Just beautiful. (I am so glad that dressing you alike did not “stunt” your creativity and sense of self expression.) I am a lucky mom. Love you!

  3. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    BTW, we do have a knack for planning parties, don’t we?

  4. Marge Wisniewski says:

    Okay, those are gigantic ponytails on Sarah! She always did have a lot of hair!

  5. Sarah says:

    I believe that was the birthday party I fell down the stairs. Also, the dress you’re wearing in the Burger King pic, I once peed on when I was potty training, and Missy Mullen taught me to roll it up. And once again, I just want to say THANKS FOR THOSE HAIRCUTS MUNGA.

  6. Mary Granata says:

    Yes the Wisniewski’s do know how to throw a party!! And I love the speeches!!! Can’t wait to celebrate Sarah’s wonderful accomplishment!!

Leave a Reply

