Light at the End of the Tunnel

Last week, my life changed dramatically.

In that change, there’s certainly a lot to feel good about, but it’s certainly not all good, either. In many ways, I feel worn out by it all. I never asked for any of it, and now I’m stressed out – freaked out – and just generally overwhelmed. Doubtful I really have the “gonads” (as Munga would say) to shift into the new role being demanded of me.

But today I feel like I started to get things under control a bit.

I made a plan, as I’m known to do. A plan to get me through the next ten weeks until the holidays. And that plan is called…

OPERATION: SECOND HONEYMOON

Merry Christmas from Mexico!

Merry Christmas from Mexico!

And not that we’ll necessarily stop at a second honeymoon, but come this Christmas you’ll find Team Temple on that beach up there, celebrating survival of the fourth quarter of 2014.

And no, we won’t have a Christmas tree. We will have cocktails. In our bathing suits. And that’s even better.

Until then…

Tagged , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Light at the End of the Tunnel

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    You HAVE the gonads. Good plan. Don’t stop at two. What a gorgeous place to spend Christmas. Best gift of all!

  2. Marge Wisniewski says:

    Let me tell you something about challenges. They seem to come to the people who rise to the occasion. God has a plan for you. Just sayin……..

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  3. […] into uncharted waters here, as far as my stress levels are concerned. Thank god I’ve got that second honeymoon coming […]

  4. […] second honeymoon/light at the end of the tunnel is not enough. Mexican beach Christmas be damned – I need more […]

  5. […] know, when it gets to be this time of year, even though you have a FABULOUS all-inclusive Mexican beach bonanza of a Christmas planned… just for you and your awesome, much, much better half who you’ve not gotten enough […]

  6. […] with certainty, that I now have a battle-tested strategy for regeneration after such a year. OPERATION: SECOND HONEYMOON did the trick. So well, actually, that it might have to become an annual year-end practice […]

Leave a Reply

