2015 Jumpstart

One of the best things about 2015 so far is the fact that I have Kim with me here in the Bay Area for the next 3 months.

Kim + Lisa on the Coastal Trail, by Kim.

Kim + Lisa on the Coastal Trail, by Kim.

She’s enrolled in a program at the Stanford D School, and even though that means she KINDA has work to do (kinda sorta), in all actuality she has a lot of free time to just kick it (I mean, it’s only Stanford). And so we’re in full-on adventure mode, hanging out whenever possible and planning all kinds of epic funness.

Suddenly, I have a BFF again: something I’ve missed terribly ever since I arrived in San Francisco almost nine years ago now. I mean, I’ve made plenty of wonderful friends here, but I’ve never replaced the friends I left behind – they are different. There’s a comfort level I have with my friends from Detroit; people like Kim…

She gets me.

She knows, for example, why I don’t care where we eat because it’s all going to be REALLY good and everyone should just shut the hell up and eat it and be happy they aren’t eating at Olive Garden. Because you could seriously be subjected to that where we come from. OR WORSE.

She knows I’m secretly only having 70% fun in this bar. If there was hockey on TV and AC/DC in the jukebox then I would have 100% fun. But if it turned out there were too many fancy microbrews on tap and not enough cheap bottles, I would be annoyed and knock my fun rating back down to 80%. So would she. Even though I (occasionally) like fancy microbrews – they have their place. HOCKEY IS NOT IT.

She knows what I’m thinking when I hear people say “IT’S SO COLD! It’s like, seriously freezing!” in 50-degree weather. I’m thinking, “I’m gonna punch you all the way to Michigan so you can like, seriously feel -17 windchill.” She’s probably already done that herself.

And so my new year starts with an old friend, and I feel connected to my home back east in a way I haven’t in a long time. And if that sounds a little snarky, oh well. Snarky people need friends, too.

At the same time – and here’s where I show off my Gemininess – I’m excited about my life in California in a way I haven’t been in years and I love that, too. I suddenly have a newbie’s energy; Kim being here is making me fall in love with the magic of the Bay Area all over again. Yeah, yeah, everyone is a food snob and people judge me for drinking Budweiser and I STILL don’t get the big deal about It’s-It but goddammit, this place is beautiful. Hiking in the Headlands – let’s go! Cabin at Lake Tahoe – let’s go! Reno girls’ weekend – let’s go! Yosemite – let’s go! Yurt in Big Sur – let’s go!

See? I’m not all snark.

Trent and I had already resolved to spend more time outside this year, and Kim’s presence has jumpstarted that resolution. Today we spent the day hiking the Marin Headlands, the three of us plus Sam. I spent four years working in the Headlands and, after I left my job in Fort Cronkhite in 2010, I stayed away. Lately I’ve been loving going back there, though, reminding myself that it’s not my workplace – it’s one of the most beautiful places in the country. It certainly was today.

Winter day on a favorite old trail.

Winter day on a favorite old trail.

Trent and a very posey Sam, right before Sam got his first live rodent in his mouth (but failed to kill it, don't worry).

Trent and a very posey Sam, right before Sam got his first live rodent in his mouth (but failed to kill it, don’t worry).

Kim before we thwacked our way through that canyon up to Battery Townsley on the crest.

Kim before we thwacked our way through that canyon up to Battery Townsley on the crest.

The outcrop.

The outcrop.

Winter sunset on Rodeo Beach. Just like I remembered.

Winter sunset on Rodeo Beach. Just like I remembered.

We’re off to a good start with this 2015 thing, I think.

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “2015 Jumpstart

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    What an amazing place to live! I miss every bit of it! I love the headlands at sunset. There is nothing like watching a sunset at the most western point in the country. Everything seems bigger and more beautiful out there. And Sammy didn’t go in for the kill? Thank goodness! You have much to be thankful for on the east and on the west coast. Just remember that there is always a bottled beer in a dive bar waiting for you here in the “D” whenever you are ready. Have a happy 2015! I know you will!

  2. Carla Daniels says:

    I’m glad Sammy spared the rodent. 🙂

  3. Kim Dabbs says:

    I love being on adventures with you! And how many times I have to say JINX in a day now.

  4. […] Kim‘s official 40th birthday weekend at Lake Tahoe was perfection. Just what a bunch of […]

  5. […] thank god for my girls: Kim, Carla, and Marlene. We’re going to Yosemite on Friday and I can’t wait to get the hell […]

  6. […] now Kim has gone home to Michigan – this was her farewell weekend. I confess, I do feel a little panicky […]

  7. […] There’s a lot going on right now – vacation is NEEDED on so many levels. I have (/had) three events scheduled this week at work (as my success in my new job snowballs, this seems to be the norm these days). Our house is a construction zone, still, and we are desperate to escape it. El Niño is beginning to dampen our souls. We miss our friends overseas… […]

Leave a Reply

