Recharge

I spent this past weekend in Yosemite National Park, on a much needed “recharge.”

View from our balcony over the Merced outside the entrance to Yosemite, 3.14.

View from our balcony over the Merced outside the entrance to Yosemite, 3.14.

Like the early spring Merced River, filling back up with water after the thaw and blasting over the park’s granite cliffs, I’ve been in desperate need of a fresh supply of my life-giving essentials to move me into the next phase of my existence. Those essentials are basically sleep, beer, nature, and friends. And I got a whole lot of them this weekend.

Sweaty girls at Emerald Lake.

Sweaty girls at Emerald Lake.

Unfortunately for the Merced and Yosemite’s cataracts, they actually aren’t getting too many of their essentials. Signs of drought were everywhere in the park. Not a single patch of snow, even on the tops of Half Dome and El Capitan. Low flows in all the tributaries… There wasn’t even any mist on Vernal Fall’s infamous Mist Trail (we still conquered it; even sans mist it’s no walk in the park).

Looking a little bald there, Captain.

Looking a little bald there, Captain.

But enough of that – suppress panic reflex! I’m trying to recharge here.

And I did. My weekend was exactly what I needed, just too short. I’m not even minding the horrendous muscle aches setting in from our epic Saturday afternoon mountain hike.

And now Kim has gone home to Michigan – this was her farewell weekend. I confess, I do feel a little panicky about that: like I need her more than ever out here with me now. But I also know she needs her own recharge, too: her family is waiting for her back in Michigan.

Bye, Kim. :-(

Bye, Kim. 😦

Here’s to spring, and to what lies ahead.

••••••••••••••••••••

See all our pics of 2015 Girl’s Weekend in Yosemite here.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Recharge

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    I hope you got sufficient supplies of all the necessary ingredients of life this weekend. What a beautiful place to re-charge. Perhaps the water will return to Yosemite soon. Nature has a way of replenishing itself. Just like you did. Love you!

  2. Carla Daniels says:

    Moontan!!! Very good pics.

Leave a Reply

