Doors = Done

Bedroom_Door_Insta

OPERATION: NEW DOWNSTAIRS is complete. And with a F#@%ING EXCLAMATION POINT!

I finally succeeded in hiring the perfect contractor. Best Value Home Improvements did a FLAWLESS job replacing all but one of the interior doors in my house (they all happen to be on the lower, non-entry level; we live on a hill, remember), removing one closet, building another, putting a pocket door in my master walk-in even though the ceiling slopes four inches, and replacing all the downstairs trim.

They didn’t surprise me with any expenses, f#@% anything up, or make a mess. Ever. They cleaned up TO MY STANDARDS every night, and when the job was done, they even PUT ALL MY CRAP IN MY NEW LAUNDRY ROOM CLOSET AND ORGANIZED IT FOR ME!

Manny, Bat(man), and other guy whose name I can’t remember (sorry) – you guys are THE. BEST. Seriously.

I love my new downstairs. It surpasses all my expectations. And now to celebrate…

MEET THE DOORS!

(and the closets)

This is our new door and trim, installed in the guest room leading into our jack-and-jill bathroom. Next to it, you can see the new wall where we removed the crappy old half-built, happy-hands-made-me closet.

This is our new door and trim, installed in the guest room leading into our jack-and-jill bathroom. Next to it, you can see the new wall where we removed the crappy old half-built, happy-hands-made-me closet.

Here you can see the new door from our bedroom into the bathroom, next to the new pocket door they installed in our walk-in closet.

Here you can see the new door from our bedroom into the bathroom, next to the new pocket door they installed in our walk-in closet.

This is the BRILLIANT solution the BV crew came up with for dealing with my sloped closet ceiling.

This is the BRILLIANT solution the BV crew came up with for dealing with my sloped closet ceiling.

This is my AMAZING new custom air-tight, cold-fighting door between the bathroom and the laundry room/basement. It is expertly installed and COMPLETELY IMPERVIOUS TO WIND, BUGS, AND NOISE!

This is my AMAZING new custom air-tight, cold-fighting door between the bathroom and the laundry room/basement. It is expertly installed and COMPLETELY IMPERVIOUS TO WIND, BUGS, AND NOISE!

This is the new and improved closet the BV crew built me in my teensy tiny basement laundry room. It's so nice, I am no longer afraid to store things in here.

This is the new and improved closet the BV crew built me in my teensy tiny basement laundry room. It’s so nice, I am no longer afraid to store things in here.

Next (after I crack this bottle of champagne over a doorknob and down it): we move on to… OPERATION: DECORATE DOWNSTAIRS (finally)!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Doors = Done

  1. Viola says:

    Looks fantastic!

  2. Marge Wisniewski says:

    Champagne is definitely in order! I saw the before and the after is fantastic! It is amazing what a difference a door can make in a room. I want to go slam them! No more remnants of do it yourself projects. Only a professional job well done. Tell the contractors we approve!

  3. Marge Wisniewski says:

    P.S. The grandparents are impressed!

  4. […] closet so we have at least a SOMEWHAT continuous patch of wall against which to put a bed, having replaced all the doors so we have sufficient quiet and warmth to warrant sleeping in there, having added new […]

  5. […] And we’re bringing back the amazing Best Value Home Improvement, too, so our door will definitely roll […]

  6. […] but damn comfy! There used to be a closet behind the headboard; it’s still there, but we rebuilt it in the laundry room, on the other side of the wall, to […]

Leave a Reply

