DC Do-over

Once upon a time I went to DC in January. I thought it would be fun to visit my sister (then in graduate school) for the presidential inauguration – a super patriotic occasion.

And that was really NOT the greatest idea I’ve ever had…

The National Mall in January is NOT FUN.

The National Mall in January is NOT FUN.

But, important thing about me – I learn from my mistakes. And now I’ve just returned from the perfect long holiday weekend in our nation’s capital (turns out there are PLENTY of patriotic yet STILL WARM times of year to go to DC!). It was so perfect I’m even overlooking the fact that BOTH the getting there AND the getting home amounted to quite possibly the worst bit of air travel I’ve experienced in years.

Yes – you read that correctly. BOTH legs of the trip. Missed flights, tornadoes in Texas, all the hellish air travel shenanigans. Trent and I were TWICE stranded at the same awful gate in Dallas with the same bitchy, unhelpful gate agent.

But my weekend was so lovely – full of sisterly love and patriotic sites and behind-the-scenes treats and old friends and new friends and good food and perfect weather – I didn’t even make a voodoo doll for the bitchy gate agent. I haven’t even taken on a crusade against Virgin America. I… I…

I don’t care. I don’t want to say it was worth it, but…

It MIGHT have been worth it.

?

Trent and I got to see my awesome sister’s awesome life flowering in the glorious southern spring. We met her awesome friends and we all stayed out too late every night in an awesome neighborhood and went awesome places and experienced awesome things that only awesome DC people can do – most of which involved velvet ropes and armed guards.

Going behind the scenes at the Capitol with Sarah's awesome friend Trelaine as our guide.

Going behind the scenes at the Capitol with Sarah’s awesome friend Trelaine as our guide.

I caught a glimpse of our lives as we grow older together – the last of our father’s line. We’re going to have an awesomely good time, this little family of ours, and dad would be (will be?) so proud of all the awesome things we’re going to accomplish at the same time.

Big shots: all of us. Even the little sister now.

And, I might add, I did NOT freeze my face off this time.

Extra awesome! A new tradition is born.

Skipping the lines inside the capitol dome.

Skipping the lines inside the capitol dome.

 

Sarah at the center (literally) of DC, where she's sure to stay.

Sarah at the center (literally) of DC, where she’s sure to stay.

 

Late afternoon hangtime near the National Garden.

Late afternoon hangtime near the National Garden.

 

Getting inside the US Dept of Justice building with Sarah's creds!

Getting inside the US Dept of Justice building with Sarah’s creds!

 

Trent doing things we shouldn't have taken pictures of, while left totally to our own devices inside Main Justice.

Trent doing things we shouldn’t have taken pictures of, while left totally to our own devices inside Main Justice.

 

Um, do not go in here. Don't even try.

Um, do not go in here. Don’t even try.

 

Gorgeous weekend to enjoy the National Mall.

Gorgeous weekend to enjoy the National Mall.

 

The group indulged me with a trip to the U.S. Botanic Garden's conservatory.

The group indulged me with a trip to the U.S. Botanic Garden’s conservatory.

 

Sisters, Spring 2015.

Sisters, Spring 2015.

••••••••••••••••••••

See all our pics of Memorial Day Weekend 2015 in Washington, D.C. here.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “DC Do-over

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    How is it humanly possible that you got the same bitchy gate agent TWICE?!?! Virgin got off easy on that one! You don’t want the wrath of a Wisniewski/Temple on your head. Trust me! But the point here is that you had a terrific time with your sister. You made up for all the sibling rivalry crap from the past 34 years in one special weekend.

    Yes, indeed, I hope this was a glimpse of what is to come. Your sister is still the best friend you will ever have. And yes, indeed, your dad would be so proud of both of you. And you are following in his “Clark Griswold” footsteps!

    And I am glad you got warm weather on this trip. I can’t wait to see what spring 2016 will hold for all of you. Life just gets better and better, doesn’t it? Love you all!

  2. Denise says:

    From all the talk I’ve heard of recent airline travel they have an unhappy, bitchy
    gate agent at ALL the airlines. But the important thing is that you had an awesome weekend. That’s all that matters😊!

  3. […] Memorial Day trip to DC is coming right […]

  4. […] We’ve officially made a “tradition” out of visiting my sister on the most-patriotic-yet-mild-weatherwise weekend of the year in Washington D.C., but we no longer have only my sister to visit. […]

Leave a Reply

