37

37! Oy vey. I am 37 years old.

Wow.

My most recent birthday arrived a few days ago, on June 2nd. Am I ready for the final 3-2-1 countdown to 40? I don’t really know.

In a way, it terrifies me. I have a 20th year high school reunion staring me down now. Like, 20 years ago this month I was getting my senior pictures taken for good old Northville High…

Just one of my MANY senior photos. Yep – talk about oy vey.

Just one of my MANY senior photos. Yep – talk about oy vey.

 

HOW CAN THAT BEEEEEE???!!!

On the other hand, I kinda do feel ready. I finally (yes! finally!) feel like a fully-formed adult, with a real resume of life achievements. I have a fabulous husband, a beautiful home, a successful career, fulfilling hobbies, good friends. Some (definitely not from California) might say I’ve “held onto my youth” a little longer than the average bear, but I take care of my family; they are my priority and they know it. I’ve already lost a parent to tragedy and learned to live with a life-altering medical diagnosis and I’ve not been beat yet… Is there really any reason to dread “life after youth”?

I’m seriously asking myself, because I’ve been notorious for dreading it.

Taking on a leadership role at work over the past year has been good for me. I think it actually may have cured me of that notorious aging anxiety? May have… I’ve definitely at least learned to own my authority as the boss – the grownup – and not to envy the 20-somethings (even 30-somethings) who may have more fun at happy hour, but really don’t know what the hell they’re doing in life yet.

I don’t think I want to go back, you see. Things are pretty good here at 37, with my hardcore TV schedule, early bedtime, and mortgage payment. Hindsight tells me they may actually be better. 

(but I do still love happy hour, even if it only actually lasts an hour now…)

Also, the Facebook “how old do you look?” thing says I actually look 27(!), so I am taking that to the motherf#@%in’ bank and not sweating the fading beauty thing any more. Also, I will never complain about Facebook again because OBVIOUSLY this thing is just a goldmine for reputable advice:

I don't want to hear it. This is clearly a brilliant piece of application engineering.

I don’t want to hear it. This is clearly a brilliant piece of application engineering.

So, 37 – here I am. And happy to be here. Something I didn’t really say to 36, so you should feel special.

And here’s how I celebrated: with my very favorite things, once again…

NATURE:

Upper Sardine Lake, near my 37th birthday campsite in a quiet stretch of the High Sierra Gold Country.

Upper Sardine Lake, near my 37th birthday campsite in a quiet stretch of the High Sierra Gold Country.

FRIENDS:

Ed taught us all how to bring a little rave to the camping experience.

Ed taught us all how to bring a little rave to the camping experience.

BEER:

Girls floating and enjoying some cold ones at Rocky Rest swimming hole in the Yuba River.

Girls floating and enjoying some cold ones at Rocky Rest swimming hole in the Yuba River.

DOGS:

My best camping bud, finding a way to make himself comfortable in the most uncomfortable of places.

My best camping bud, finding a way to make himself comfortable in the most uncomfortable of places.

Thanks for helping me get ready, all those who came along on our Gold Country campout, and thanks to the rest of my wonderful friends and family who continue on this crazy adventure with me every step of the way.

••••••••••••••••••••

See all our pictures of 37th Birthday Weekend Camping here.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “37

  1. Peter says:

    amazing, amazing, you just look like the Grad pic, even better ,keep up the good life ,luv u

  2. xxixxi says:

    Love it!

  3. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    It’s been 20 years since you graduated from high school! Yikes! Now I feel old! But, as you have discovered, there is life after youth, and it can be pretty darn good. The problem with youth is that it is often accompanied by ignorance. Vitality without wisdom is a waste. You have both, you lucky girl. Maybe that is why you have been placed where you are – so you can gain wisdom. It worked! Happy hour is fun, even if it ends early, although sometimes I miss those days of staying out until 2:00 a.m. and getting up to go to work in the morning. Seriously. I am going to try that Facebook thing, too, just in case youth was hereditary. Maybe you got that from me (He! He!). Anyway, you are only as young as you feel, and you seem to feel pretty good about all this. BTW, I love the way Sammy sneaks into every picture and every nook and cranny of that rocky landscape and your life. He will do anything to be with you. Girl’s best friend. So lucky you have your hubby and your dog and your family and your friends and your youth and your life to celebrate God’s gifts. It is amazing how much there is to celebrate, isn’t it? Wish you another 60 years, because, as you will find, they are all good in their own way. Love you!

  4. […] Rocky Rest sites snagged for summer camping kickoff! […]

Leave a Reply

