Summer of Love

OPERATION: Vacation Between Jobs is in full effect here. After finishing my last day at Art.com last week, Trent and I hopped a plane to Detroit where we spent five days with my family: some of it spent in the same old haunts, some of it on new adventures, and some of it celebrating some very special occasions.

Well, “hopped” isn’t entirely accurate. We more commando-crawled across a battlefield of crowds, confusion, and epic rage-inducing customer service queues wherein after four flight delays, a harrowing shuttle trip to change departure airports, and an entirely new itinerary, we finally arrived in Detroit the next day only about five hours late (the magic of time zones!).

THEN we got to enjoy said activities both old and new and very, very special…

(though we feel like we’ve experienced a lot of good fortune in life lately, the one arena where we HAVEN’T felt the love is definitely air travel – good lord)

Taking Munga and Trent on a paddle down the Huron River.

Taking Munga and Trent on a paddle down the Huron River.

Making a late-night stop at the good old Wagon Wheel with Jenn.

Making a late-night stop at the good old Wagon Wheel with Jenn.

Nicole and Evan's wedding was the main focus of our trip. Can't believe this gorgeous girl is MARRIED; I still remember the day I held her as a tiny infant.

Nicole and Evan’s wedding was the main focus of our trip. Can’t believe this gorgeous girl is MARRIED; I still remember the day I held her as a tiny infant.

Got to spend more time with my sister and her boyfriend, Payton, too. WE REALLY LIKE HIM!!! :-D

Got to spend more time with my sister and her boyfriend, Payton, too. WE REALLY LIKE HIM!!! 😀

Anyway, we had a great time. It was pretty much an all-family-time trip; originally we had hoped to take a couple weeks off this summer and spend a long time in Michigan, traveling around up north to some places Trent has never been like the Upper Peninsula and Sleeping Bear and Mackinac Island. It didn’t happen, though, since I now have to start a new job in a week and we’re just days away from closing on 2381.

Sad, because our time there is never enough. There’s just never. enough. time. for all the people I want to see, all the places I want to go, all the things I want to show Trent.

All the cheap beer I want to drink and all the Lebanese food I want to eat.

All the calm fresh water I want to float in in the middle of the hot summer night while wearing my life jacket like a diaper so I can look up at the stars (it works GREAT and anyone who went up north with me in college can attest to it!).

All the cheap bars I want to watch hockey in and baseball in and basketball in and football in with old men who will share $7 pitchers with me and tell me stories about Olympia Stadium or the ’68 World Series.

All the classic rock radio stations I want to listen to while I drive 80 miles an hour on all the huge freeways down the gauntlets of orange construction cones (gotta watch out for the “state birds” as my uncle calls them).

I’m sorry, all of you I didn’t get to see this time. I really am. I miss you all, a lot. I always do. No matter how much I’ve grown to love my life here in California, I can’t stop missing you all. I just. Can’t. Stop.

I promise I will see you next time, or on the trip after that.

Because there’s one thing I have to make SURE I do every time, and that’s get my family in.

My grandparents, falling asleep in the summer sun like the two lovebirds they still are (my mom had me check they were still breathing; they were).

My grandparents, falling asleep in the summer sun like the two lovebirds they still are (my mom had me check they were still breathing; they were).

I know I can count on you all to keep the barstools warm and the water calm and the summer nights hot for me in the meantime.

(and the orange cones I know will ALWAYS be there)

••••••••••••••••••••

See all our pics of the latest trip home to Detroit here.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Summer of Love

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    And I can’t wait until you come back and do it all again. LOVE YOU!! MISS YOU!! LOVE YOU!!! DID I MENTION THAT I MISS YOU?!?!?

  2. Mary Granata says:

    i love your family!! That picture of your grandparents says it all. What love!!! When you get the opportunity to go north, let me know. I have a great place you can stay 🙂 Munga and I can show you some great adventures in that neck of the woods too!!!

  3. […] flew to Michigan on my last day to be with my family and attend my cousin’s […]

Leave a Reply

