Big

Whoa. The last week(ish) has been big. Really big. BIG.

BI-I-IG.

Like, probably the biggest week of my life, with a few exceptions…

  1. The week I got married – May 2011 – 2,500 miles from where I lived, then took off on my two-week honeymoon in the Canary Islands. That was a very, very, big week+, in a very, very good way. I had achieved a happiness that I’d never really imagined for myself, and I enjoyed it fully (something I don’t think I’d ever done before then).
  2. The (two) week(s) I moved to California – May 2006 – to take my second-chance life-changing job with Antenna Audio (later Discovery). I left behind all my family, a lifetime of friends, and my boyfriend of nine years who I later broke up with (because he didn’t want to come with me so, in my defense, he actually broke up with me and… see #1; it was for the best). That was a hugely terrifying week+ but it was a good kind of hugely terrifying; big things were happening and although I didn’t know how it would all turn out, I trusted it would be great. And I was right (after I got over the breakup).
  3. The week we moved into our first home – June 2012 – here at 3675, flew to Michigan for my grandparents’ 60th anniversary, and found out while we were there that I got my job at Art.com: the job that really bumped my career up a notch and (I have to admit) turned me into the candidate capable of the dream job I have now. That one was big because it was grownup big; I took on a lot because it was all important to me, and I made it all happen. It was a good kind of big that I controlled from start to finish.
  4. The week I spent in the hospital – June 2005 – getting my craptastic diagnosis of Multiple Sclerosis. On my F#@%ING BIRTHDAY. Oh yes – I had answers to my mysterious ailments, but otherwise this was a big week in the absolute worst kind of way: one that ended with not only my ruined birthday party but a botched hospital discharge, steroid withdrawal, an emergency blood patch on my spine, home care, an amazing series of prednisone-induced nightmares, and what was probably a fairly significant and undiagnosed case of clinical depression.

[RECORD SCRATCH!]

Hang on.

That’s just the order I remembered this all in and jotted it all down.

As you can see, each of these little chapters were “big” for their own reasons and very specific memories. But when I reorder this stuff chronologically…

  1. The week I spent in the hospital – June 2005 – getting my craptastic diagnosis of Multiple Sclerosis. On my F#@%ING BIRTHDAY. Oh yes – I had answers to my mysterious ailments, but otherwise this was a big week in the absolute worst kind of way: one that ended with not only my ruined birthday party but a botched hospital discharge, steroid withdrawal, an emergency blood patch on my spine, home care, an amazing series of prednisone-induced nightmares, and what was probably a fairly significant and undiagnosed case of clinical depression. 
  2. The (two) week(s) I moved to California – May 2006 – to take my second-chance life-changing job with Antenna Audio (later Discovery). I left behind all my family, a lifetime of friends, and my boyfriend of nine years who I later broke up with (because he didn’t want to come with me so, in my defense, he actually broke up with me and… see #1 #3; it was for the best). That was a hugely terrifying week+ but it was a good kind of hugely terrifying; big things were happening and although I didn’t know how it would all turn out, I trusted it would be great. And I was right (after I got over the breakup). 
  3. The week I got married – May 2011 – 2,500 miles from where I lived, then took off on my two-week honeymoon in the Canary Islands. That was a very, very, big week+, in a very, very good way. I had achieved a happiness that I’d never really imagined for myself, and I enjoyed it fully (something I don’t think I’d ever done before then). 
  4. The week we moved into our first home – June 2012 – here at 3675, flew to Michigan for my grandparents’ 60th anniversary, and found out while we were there that I got my job at Art.com: the job that really bumped my career up a notch and (I have to admit) turned me into the candidate capable of the dream job I have now. That one was big because it was grownup big; I took on a lot because it was all important to me, and I made it all happen. It was a good kind of big that I controlled from start to finish. 

OMG, I like the way it looks like this so much more. Do you see it?

I actually see my personal growth right here in this list.

And this latest biggest week(ish)…

  • I ended that job at Art.com…
  • Then flew to Michigan on my last day to be with my family and attend my cousin’s wedding…
  • Then came home and wrapped up the closing on our second home, WHILE doing renovations on our first home…
  • Then traveled to another friend’s wedding…
  • THEN came home and started my dream job the next day…
  • THEN came home that night of my first day on the dream job and signed my closing papers on our second home.
Troy + Rhea getting married at the beautiful Empire Mine!

Troy + Rhea getting married at the beautiful Empire Mine!

First day at the new job, riding the bus together like besties (we are)!

First day at the new job, riding the bus together like besties (we are)!

IMG_6965

Signing on the dotted line to make 2381 ours!

It’s like that 2012 week up there on steroids!!!

WHAT MORE WILL TEAM TEMPLE TAKE ON AND WHERE ARE WE HEADED NEXT?!

I don’t know. But I know this week has been “big” in a very, very, very, VERY, HUGELY, good way. I am excited for this beginning, in a way I never have been. This is the start of our next chapter, like all those other weeks started something good (even if I didn’t know it at the time).

This one is going to be the biggest BIG yet.

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Big

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    I think there is an expression that the unexamined life is not worth living. You have examined your life, weighed it and measured it, and it has definitely been worth living. And if you look at the good things, they often came on the heal of some really bad and trying things. As the priest once said at my friend Holly’s wedding, “No problem, no progress”. It is nice to look back on the progress. I am sure there is more to come.

  2. Marlene says:

    Congratulations! You’ve proven that humans can fly, soar.
    Happy for your successes, Team Curly Hair Red Beard.

Leave a Reply

