Warm + Toasty

2381 is officially christened.

Cheers to our new special place.

Cheers to our new special place.

Broken-in as our most special of all special places.

Warmed-up as a hideaway for the people (and animals) we love, to laugh, overeat, drink too much, sleep in, be loud or be quiet, and enjoy some of our beautiful, dwindling, pristine places in this country. 

For a long time, I’ve dreamed of making a home like this. Every time Trent and I escaped on one of our wilderness weekend adventures, I’d switch on the Zillow app as soon as we got back in service and infamously lament on the road home…

“We should just move to [INSERT CUTE LITTLE MOUNTAIN TOWN]. Come on! Real estate is soooooo cheap! Sort of!”

(I mean, everything looks cheap when you live in the Bay Area…)

And now, I’ve Wisniewskied my way to my dream. Just like my father had the Mar-Sa-Li for us to enjoy our precious family time on – for us to make incredible memories in the wild and for him to leave behind the stress of his overachiever life, maintaining his balance and health in defiance of all the odds – Trent and I have 2381.

And I am so gosh darn happy about it, I CRIED, in front of my friends – happy-cried, like I just flash-transformed into my MOTHER – as we made breakfast together in the kitchen Monday morning.

Here’s to the start of when life gets really, really good. And to all of you along for the ride (we’re now officially open to all!)…

Backyard ready for some breakin' in.

Backyard ready for some breakin’ in.

Grillmaster Trent preparing his signature meatums for the masses.

Grillmaster Trent preparing his signature meatums for the masses.

Jon colonizing Rock Island for us in the Stanislaus River.

Jon colonizing Rock Island for us in the Stanislaus River.

Team Temple annual end-of-summer river shot.

Team Temple annual end-of-summer river shot.

Stellar crew for 2381's inaugural weekend. Now, bring on the rest of y'all!

Stellar crew for 2381’s inaugural weekend. Now, bring on the rest of y’all!

See all our pics of our Labor Day housewarming weekend at 2381 here

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Warm + Toasty

  1. Marge Wisniewski says:

    How great that you can realize your dream! And share it with the rest of us! I am sure that we will be as happy and comfortable in your little mountain cabin as you are. Everybody needs to find their balance, whether on boat or land. Remember what you have waiting for you when the times get tough. And then forget everything else when you get there. Maybe I won’t want to leave. Do you need a caretaker? Love you!

  2. […] Labor Day was 2381’s house “warming,” this past week has been its baptism by […]

  3. […] for: new jobs, new homes, promotions. I think my happy-cry in the kitchen of our new vacation cabin Labor Day weekend over breakfast with friends summed up how I’m feeling about life these […]

  4. […] As I sit here packing up for an extra-long Labor Day weekend with friends up at our mountain house, I’m reminded that it’s been one year since our official housewarming at Mustang Ranch. […]

  5. […] our little square mudroom, after our Labor Day housewarming last year, I hung this large canvas print of the excellent friends who helped us christen our new […]

Leave a Reply

