Settling Down

Waiting to board the MV Skansonia for Russ and Marc's reception.

Waiting to board the MV Skansonia for Russ and Marc’s reception.

On Sunday night Trent and I got home from a weekend in Seattle. We made the journey for a friend’s wedding, as we’ve done for many friends on many other occasions, but this wedding left a mark on the both of us. We’re still talking about it, and I expect it will stay with us for a long time. 

It was the wedding of my old and dear friend from college, Russ, and his longtime partner, Marc. Until recently, it wouldn’t have even been possible, but here we all were – September 2015, gathered in Seattle from near and far and very, very far, to watch them be married in a Christian church, by a wonderful female minister, under a message of love and acceptance that represented the intent of the true Christian god (not the one that Kim Davis woman believes in).

I am not a religious person – Catholic school pretty much ground down my ability to “practice” anything – but Russ is one of few people in my life who has made me feel closer to God, on more than one occasion. He, after all, is the person who first introduced me to the Association for a More Just Society. He lives his life with the utmost integrity and a commitment to the greater good (he also spontaneously sent me some excellent bathroom reading about hipster puppies – like, how awesome is this guy?). And his wedding was just the latest occasion in our friendship where I felt as though I was “having a moment.”

In fact, I don’t think I was the only person there having a moment, judging from the number of women and grown men weeping all around me – my husband included (sorry for outting you, Trent).

So to recap our weekend in Seattle for this precious archive of mine, all I really need to do is share this reading from Russ’ wedding, and I think (hope) you’ll get it…

This is what the Lord Almighty, the God of Israel, says to all those I carried into exile from Jerusalem to Babylon: “Build houses and settle down; plant gardens and eat what they produce. Marry and have sons and daughters; find wives for your sons and give your daughters in marriage, so that they too may have sons and daughters. Increase in number there; do not decrease. Also, seek the peace and prosperity of the city to which I have carried you into exile. Pray to the Lord for it, because if it prospers, you too will prosper.” Yes, this is what the Lord Almighty, the God of Israel, says: “Do not let the prophets and diviners among you deceive you. Do not listen to the dreams you encourage them to have. They are prophesying lies to you in my name. I have not sent them,” declares the Lord.

Russ_Marc.jpg

10 This is what the Lord says: “When seventy years are completed for Babylon, I will come to you and fulfill my good promise to bring you back to this place. 11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. 14 I will be found by you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back from captivity.[b]

I will gather you from all the nations and places where I have banished you,” declares the Lord, “and will bring you back to the place from which I carried you into exile.”

While we’ve come so far in recent years, still, there are those among us who prophesy lies. They do not represent their God. Russ, and his new husband, and their circle of wonderful family and friends who do so much good for the world – they represent their God. They are carrying out the work He wants them to do.

And Trent and I feel so privileged to be a part of their lives.

ALSO! Let’s have a little shoutout to the fact that this was a HIGHLY Maize and Blue wedding, which might explain the abundance of wonderfulness going around. AND we got to cap off our weekend with more Wolverine friends, including the brand new mini-Wolverine and new #1 fan, Sadie Skoog (daughter of my very oldest friend in the world, Rebecca Retzler Skoog, who’s own wedding was the last occasion that drew us to Seattle)!

Sadie says "HAIL!"

Sadie says “HAIL!”

EVEN THE UBER DRIVER WHO TOOK US TO THE AIRPORT WAS A RETIRED WOLVERINE! He’d recently relocated to be closer to his sons and was Ubering his hybrid around town to get to know the city. And he was awesome. Of course.

It’s a good thing I’m deeded to two pieces of real estate in California right now because if not, there might have been no getting me out of Seattle.

Uh oh. Someone likes it here... A lot...

Uh oh. Someone likes it here… A lot…

••••••••••••••••••••

See all our pics of Russ and Marc’s wedding and other adventures in Seattle here.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Settling Down

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Lisa and Trent, a wonderful commentary on what it means to love God and be loved by Him. I admire you and all your friends who try to live the life God has planned for them. He has plans to give you a hope and a future. And you can call upon Him any time. Amen

Leave a Reply

