Stork Club

Once upon a time, the Stork Club was an infamous Oakland dive bar where I had a second date with a man I went on to marry. I went to see his band play with my old friend John, visiting me from San Diego (and being a very good sport); I fell in a hole in the middle of Telegraph Avenue on my way in and spent most of the night bleeding and in pain, but gosh I had fun in spite of it.

Alcohol helped.

But though the good old Stork Club still exists, I’m now thinking of the term more literally. These days, my definition of “stork Club” is a gathering of pregnant ladies named Jessica…

Because I know not one Mama Jessica…

Jessica L-Y at her baby shower two weeks ago!

Jessica L. Y. at her baby shower two weeks ago!

Not two…

Jessica O. at her baby shower YESTERDAY...

Jessica O. at her baby shower YESTERDAY…

But THREE Mama Jessicas!

Jessica R. with her, um, actual baby (Finnley) who was born three months ago (and one of the dudes who was there that night at the Stork Club...)!

Jessica R. with her, um, actual baby (Finnley) who was born three months ago (and one of the dudes who was there that night at the Stork Club…)!

All lovely and wonderful and either very recently or just about to be first-time mommys. And weirdly in sync.

Ahhh… Times have changed. But I like it.

Looking forward to a very fun summer of graduation parties 18 years from now? 😀

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Stork Club

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Storks certainly have significance in your life, Lisa. Out of one “stork club” a wonderful union was born (your marriage to Trent). And the latest “stork club” has yielded several new arrivals. I think the name “Jessica” might just have some significance, too! Eighteen years from now, I hope you will share this blog with all the new arrivals at their graduation parties, and with the “Jessica’s” and the dads, so they can look back at the amazing coincidences that make up our lives. Just don’t fall in any holes when you are going to the parties……

  2. Aw I love being in the stork club!! Jessicas unite!

Leave a Reply

