Two Headed Reunion

It’s been about three years now since Trent’s band, Two Headed Spy, officially broke up.

Last show: CD release at Cafe du Nord.

Last show: CD release at Cafe du Nord.

It happened not long after we bought 3675 and moved to Oakland, but it was in the works for a while. The guys had been together for years, writing and performing and recording and dedicating themselves to their music way more than your average weekend warrior, but those “grown up life things” had just started to happen. You know – big jobs and real relationships and family and houses and stuff. 

No one was really surprised when the end came; everyone might have been a little relieved, even. Still, it was the end of something important in all our lives: especially in Trent’s and my relationship. The band was a huge part of our early days together, a tremendous creative outlet for Trent, and you’ll have a hard time finding a bigger 2HS fan and promoter than me.

First CD release show at Thee Parkside. #1 Fan right up front.

First CD release show at Thee Parkside. #1 Fan right up front.

It should therefore come as no surprise that when we bought 2381, Trent and I instantly agreed we had to find a weekend to “get the band back together” there: all the now-grown-up members, with their now-families. And that just happened this past weekend, nicely coinciding (roughly) with Trent’s 36th birthday.

A little Saturday afternoon deck jug band sesh with Justin and fam.

A little Saturday afternoon deck jug band sesh with Justin and fam.

I know the whole weekend made Trent super happy; hopefully the guys had fun, too. We plan to make it an annual tradition, and I’ll continue to play my superfan role.

Sometimes superfans pass out early. It happens.

Sometimes superfans pass out early. It happens.

And since NO ONE ever took more pictures of these guys than me, I dedicate this mash up of then + now to Trent, Troy, Matt, and Justin.

Pretty sure this bar in SF doesn't exist any more...

Pretty sure this bar in SF doesn’t exist any more…

Trent and Justin.

Trent and Justin.

Magical Matt.

Magical Matt.

Troy and I at the Concord show, 2007. Pretty sure this was the first time we hung out. And fought.

Troy and I at the Concord show, 2007. Pretty sure this was the first time we hung out. And fought.

The distinctive skyline view from 2HS's Hunter's Point studio.

The distinctive skyline view from 2HS’s Hunter’s Point studio.

Then (2007).

Then (2007).

Now (2015).

Now (2015).

I know it’s only rock and roll, but I liked it. We all did. Always will.

•••••••••••••••••••••

See all our pictures of (the hopefully first annual) Two Headed Spy reunion weekend in Arnold here.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Two Headed Reunion

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    I am printing this to add to my “2HS” Yearbook! (I am such a mom!) The band was a significant part of all of our lives. I wish that I could have been a bigger part of it, but distance did not allow for “#2 Fan” (aka, Mom Marge) to be present. Believe me, I would have been there with cowbells on (He! He!). Do they still use those in bands?

    Anyway, time changes everything, and time changed 2HS, but not the friendships that ensued. Now you can inspire a whole new generation of musicians (band kids), just like “Tim and Dan” inspired Lisa to be a musician. I remember when your dad stopped playing professionally (I was pregnant with you, Lisa). We were happy to be moving on in our lives together, but a little sad because that music would not be heard again. I still have his accordion if ever you want to experiment with a new sound, Trent.

    As for that shot of Lisa sleeping on the floor, HA! That was where you usually found me after a fun day with friends. It seems our family (my family) has a genetic predisposition to collapsing from fun and sleeping like a baby in the middle of the chaos. We just “suck the marrow out of the bone of life”!

    Okay, at the risk of sounding too “mom-ish”, Trent sure does look cute with all that long, curly hair. No wonder you fell for him, Lisa! Band Chick loves Band Boy. Great story. Happy ending. No, wait! Not over yet. Can’t wait to see what next year’s reunion will bring.

    I hope I am there to “hear” it.

    Love,

    Mom

  2. […] Gettin’ the band back together. […]

Leave a Reply

