5/10/20

Winter wonderland...

Winter wonderland…

Sigh. Shutdown is over.

It’s a bitter pill to swallow, but I’m personally ready to get on with the new year. It was great having two weeks off and all, but to be honest it finished off a tad more eventful than I think either Trent or I were anticipating.

While we managed to spend just about every day up at 2381 on our long-awaited “cabincation,” I unfortunately was plagued by an awful case of whooping cough (or something) during most of it and felt generally worn out more than relaxed. We then welcomed guests for New Year’s Eve and I of course stressed out WAY TOO MUCH about them traveling in the Sierra snow (yay mountain snow! boo failure at personal growth!). And THEN we had TWO main drain line backups in the basement – one while hungover on New Year’s Day, and another the day after because even though I managed to get a really nice contractor to come out ON the holiday, we were naive to think he ACTUALLY fixed the issue (tree roots in the line, btw – just another byproduct of our fabulous drought!).

Thank goodness my friends aren’t overly shower-dependent.

Anyway, so yeah – vacation is over and that’s okay. Sometimes the universe is just telling you to “get on with it, already.” And I know a little toilet water on my basement floor is no harbinger of what’s to come in 2016.

Because despite the toilet water and the sickness and the Munga-esque worry, I actually still managed to enjoy cabincation. I mean, there are worse places to be laid up with no water and the whoop:

Cabin sweet cabin!

Cabin sweet cabin!

And my friends are totally rad, and totally flexible, and totally the best New Year’s Eve companions anyone can ask for, in sunshine or in snow drifts:

Keeper for the cabin photo wall! NYE night at the Murphys Saloon.

Keeper for the cabin photo wall! NYE night at the Murphys Saloon.

And ALSO! I realized the other day that 2016 is my 5/10/20 year!!!

I just made that up and I might be the only person who’s ever had such an amazing year, but here – let me explain.

It’s a HUGELY AWESOME year of amazing anniversaries, incredibly, joyously synched up to make for copious amounts of celebration…

5 YEARS OF MARRIAGE TO SUPERHUBS: 

May 21, 2011: Marrying the love of my life in Detroit.

May 21, 2011: Marrying the love of my life in Detroit.

10 YEARS OF REMISSION FROM MS / LIFE IN CALIFORNIA: 

May 9, 2006: the day Matt and I arrived at the Pacific Ocean (specifically, the beach where I worked in the Marin Headlands).

May 9, 2006: the day Matt and I arrived at the Pacific Ocean (specifically, on the Marin Headlands beach where I had my first office, for the job that started my new California life).

20 YEARS SINCE I GRADUATED FROM HIGH SCHOOL!!!

February 1996: me and Tom Willerer totally crushing 70s Day for Spirit Week as seniors. And no, it is not lost on me that "kids these days" have "90s Week" instead.

February 1996: me and Tom Willerer totally crushing 70s Day for Spirit Week as seniors. And no, it is not lost on me that “kids these days” have “90s Week” instead.

So, there’s no way this year can be anything but the best. I’m so excited to take you on 2016…

HERE. WE. GO.

(*cough*)

••••••••••••••••••••

Psst – See all our pics of Cabincation 2015 here

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “5/10/20

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Way to put things in perspective! While this holiday sounds like a reprise of National Lampoon’s “Christmas Vacation”, like Clark Griswold, it sure didn’t dampen your spirits any! (“Shitter was full.”) The Universe certainly has a sense of humor. Don’t tempt it, just roll with it. Based on my experience, holidays, house guests and extremes of weather create maximum testing constraints for plumbing systems. And speaking of weather, you can’t do anything about it, so why worry? (I did manage to overcome the addiction to worrying about the weather. Your grandmother definitely has that gene!)

    On a serious note, this does appear to be the start of a milestone year for you. Time goes by so fast I did not realize it had been FIVE years since you got married! People are still talking about it like it was yesterday. And ten years in remission is the miracle that I had always hoped and prayed for. I will never forget the day that little Toyota rolled into California in the fog with your friend riding shotgun, and you sent me a picture. I had no idea that the next ten years would yield such marvelous and wonderful experiences for you. (Even though I was terrified for you at the same time!) As for high school reunions, I would pay money to see you replay that dance routine from the 90’s! Seriously, you should recommend it to your reunion committee.

    We should all pause every five years to re-visit and re-evaluate our lives. Sometimes we don’t know where we are going until we look back at where we have been. You have crammed more into the last five/ten/twenty years than some people will do in a lifetime. Have no regrets and move forward fearlessly. Love you!

  2. Scott Rippee says:

    The snow is soooo beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

