Lit Up

Testing our final experience with the volunteer corps, Thursday night in the CTL Lab at Adobe.

Testing our final light painting experience with the volunteer corps, Thursday night in the CTL Lab at Adobe.

My first “major” project for Adobe is now complete.

We pulled off “painting in light” for somewhere around 400 kids at the de Young Museum in San Francisco this past Friday night, and although almost 48 hours have passed since we wrapped, hauling the last pieces of our “light booths” back to our office laboratory in the wee hours of Saturday morning, I’m still recovering from the mayhem. 

Talk about hard work – I have never done work on this scale before. But man, it sure is fun.

I realized some time ago that no one – not my family, not even my tech-savvy Bay Area friends – truly understands what I do for a living any more. It’s just gotten too “out there.” So on top of the fact that I’m still super worn out and JUST got out of bed at 2:00 PM, I’ve decided to just show y’all instead.

Here are some pics of “light painting” for 400 kids…

Test snap with light-up hula hoop.

Test snap with light-up hula hoop.


Our project manager, Mark, with a young light artist.

Our project manager, Mark, with a young light artist.


My favorite kid of the night. He is destined for greatness.

My favorite kid of the night. He is destined for greatness.

 

Mayhem at the sticker printer and giveaways table!

Mayhem at the sticker printer and giveaways table!

Suffice it to say, it was a good idea to be the lead sponsor of the de Young Museum’s third annual “de Youngsters” Art Party, and to create this amazing experience, and to blow all the kiddo’s minds (and their parents’, too), and we will probably do it again next year (although we’ll have to come up with some even cooler idea; sigh). In the meantime, I will try to find ways to scale out this experience to other organizations. That’s just one of the things I do, as Adobe’s Community Engagement Manager.

I also do a lot of other things, too, which is why I need lots of beauty sleep (and a vacation home), so…

Look at the pictures, and enjoy. Off to drink a beer and cuddle with my pup until Monday morning.

All lit up.

••••••••••••••••••••

See ALL the pics (I managed to snap) of light painting in action here.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Lit Up

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Congratulations from the grandparents and me on the completion of your first major project at Adobe! This is, no doubt, an idea that can be used again and again. And don’t limit it to kids! Adults have a lot to learn too, and they definitely need more art in their lives. Art creates an opportunity for kids of all ages to learn new things. I hope you get that little superstar to autograph his poster. It may be worth something some day! Now go get some rest so you can do it again!

  2. […] totally outdid ourselves. Light painting is just a distant memory […]

Leave a Reply

