Bathroom: Not Done

We’re now just three days from departure to Europe, and our bathroom remodel project is supposed to be done.

Of course, it is not.

Of course, I am losing my mind with stress, and losing use of my left leg with multiple sclerosis as a result.

I’m like a little 1950s robot spinning around short circuiting from all the activity, smoke coming out of my ears and my limbs rattling loose.

That’s exactly what I am, actually.

I want to scream.

Stress_Meme.jpg

And it’s not good for me.

Siiiiiigggggghhhhhh.

Two more work days to go, then two weeks off, and then we’ll come home and fix this pile of stinking mermaid poo.

In the meantime, I don’t know what else to say about the bathroom except that most of it is done, and beautiful…

 

Don't look too close (and pay no attention to my wobbly pano), but at this distance you can see that I totally nailed my concept.

Don’t look too close (and pay no attention to my wobbly pano), but at this distance you can see that I totally nailed my concept.

And there are some things I am really, REALLY happy with…

BAM! We got a new Milgard window inside the original 1919 casement.

BAM! We got a new Milgard window inside the original 1919 casement.

BAM! The old fugly door (and it's hate note) are no more!

BAM! The old fugly door (and it’s hate note) are no more!

BAM! I designed the perfect wainscot to match our house's original trim.

BAM! I designed the perfect wainscot to match our house’s original trim.

BAM! We dropped extra dough on oil rubbed bronze hardware to math the hardware we've been building in throughout the house, even down to the drain covers, and it's SO worth it.

BAM! We dropped extra dough on oil rubbed bronze hardware to match the hardware we’ve been building in throughout the house, even down to the drain covers, and it’s SO worth it.

Even on the toilet flush! :-D

Even on the toilet flush! 😀

NewSink.jpg

And! The AWFUL SINK is also dead…

BAM! We saved the original medicine chest and perfectly integrated it into the design.

BAM! We saved the original medicine chest and perfectly integrated it into the design.

But, there are a few, not-so-little things I’m not happy with…

The grout is totally effed. Everywhere.

The grout is totally effed. Everywhere. And there’s a LOTTA grout.

Arggghhh. We’re being told we have a “defective batch of grout.” It’s now completely cured, and everywhere – floor and walls – it looks 20 years old and moldy.

So, happy vacation to us. When we get back, we’ll be holding a gun to either the contractor’s or the tile guy’s OR his supplier’s head until it gets replaced.

Because no one’s getting paid before we leave. In fact, I might spend all the renovation money on cheese in Paris. Definitely some of it on alcohol.

Off we go…

Signed,

Trent and the One-Legged Short-Circuited Mermaid Robot

Tagged , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Bathroom: Not Done

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Danger Will Robinson! Don’t short circuit! Just laugh and be glad that you got it 99% right! All the beautiful things that work about that new bathroom are reason to board that plane, have a nice big drink, and think about all the cheese you are going to eat in Paris! Remember, IT’S JUST A BATHROOM!! Your brain is more important. Seriously……

  2. Viola says:

    It’s a beautiful bathroom and I’m particularly gratified to see a shelf/ edge thing by the tub where you can leave bath supplies. I always find it mind boggling to see shower/bath renovations that leave no specific room for product, like these days everyone still just uses a single bar of soap. They end up with super fancy bath/showers with either all their stuff ringing the floor or a $20 chrome caddy from Target. Makes no sense!

  3. Sara Hefti says:

    The bathroom looks amazing! Well thought-out and designed – I love it! And I’m sure it fits in perfectly with the rest of your home. Don’t give a second’s thought to the grout – it WILL get fixed, just not now. So leave it be, eat and drink the hell out of Paris, and enjoy!!!

    xoxo
    Sara

  4. […] at least stopped panicking about our defective/mis-mixed grout fiasco. After several awkward conversations with our contractors, the tile store representative who sold […]

  5. […] 4. That time the bathroom project simply would. not. end. […]

Leave a Reply

