Manifesting

Even though I’ve spent all morning answering work email, I’m now “officially” on vacation.

(I guess since I get unlimited paid time off, and these will be my fourth and fifth weeks since starting six months ago, I can’t really complain about the working-on-PTO-thing…)

And since my health began deteriorating a couple weeks ago in what I believe is a direct response to my stress levels, I’ve decided to document the effect vacation will hopefully have in bringing me back to normalcy. Or at least getting me mostly recovered from this relapse.

I’ve asked Trent to photograph me every day. In my most natural state – however much effort I cared to put into getting dressed, brushing my hair, etc. I hope my energy level will come through in my choices about my appearance; I hope ever-increasing happiness levels will come through in my expression. I hope time off to rest and relax will allow me to slowly recapture my full mobility, and that progress will be manifested in my outward self.

So, to get started…

DAY 1:

After returning home from my last day of work, at 8:45 PM. Had to get my jeans off pronto because I felt like I was losing circulation in my left leg. Yelled at Trent in the car for touching me after he picked me up from BART. Cried when I couldn't figure out how to check us in online with Virgin Atlantic. Ate one takeout sushi roll for dinner and fell asleep on the couch.

After returning home from my last day of work, at 8:45 PM. Had to get my jeans off pronto because I felt like I was losing circulation in my left leg. Yelled at Trent in the car for touching me after he picked me up from BART. Cried when I couldn’t figure out how to check us in online with Virgin Atlantic. Ate one takeout sushi roll for dinner and fell asleep on the couch.

DAY 2:

First "official" morning of vacation. Spent most of it on email. Decided to go to the airport three hours early to get out of the house and away from responsibilities. Left leg still not working properly and right leg now in a lot of pain; stressed out about making the trip with a big suitcase. Oh well.

First “official” morning of vacation. Spent most of it on email. Decided to go to the airport three hours early to get out of the house and away from responsibilities. Left leg still not working properly and right leg now in a lot of pain; stressed out about walking while lugging a big suitcase. Oh well.

Time will tell what happens next. 13 more days of time, to be precise.

Ta ta for now…

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Manifesting

  1. Jeannine Faunce says:

    Lisa, I’m so sorry you’re struggling right now! I hope that the rest and relaxation will help you with your pain and strength. I’ll be thinking of you! XOXO

  2. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    I am looking forward to your progress. It takes courage to confront the realities of life without flinching. Move forward fearlessly. And come home well. Love you!

  3. Sarah says:

    If anybody can haul a suitcase and walk all over Europe with malfunctioning legs it’s you. After all, you memorized every species of frog on the planet, I have no doubt by day 13 you’ll be dancing a jig. Which you’ll probably also excel at. Jig dancing, that is.

  4. […] did photograph me every day. My hope was that those photos would, over time, reflect my physical progress. That you’d be able to see a little light come on somehow… I’m not quite sure if […]

  5. […] and we’re not gonna lie — we’re tempted to feel that way, too. We started the year off with bad health news for Lisa after ten great years of remission, then Grandpa Burgess died, then Grandma Lucy […]

Leave a Reply

