Manifestations

My experiment is complete. Vacation is now over.

Our two-week Greatest European Hits trip came to an end this past Tuesday; by Wednesday AM we were home in bed recovering from it all.

It’s true: the “recovery trip” itself required a recovery period after.

But overall, was it good for me? Did it help beat back my multiple sclerosis relapse?

Well…

Trent did photograph me every day. My hope was that those photos would, over time, reflect my physical progress. That you’d be able to see a little light come on somehow… I’m not quite sure if I believed the photos could be the evidence for or the actual cause of an improvement, but…

Here they are:

Okay, so you already know this is after returning home from my last day of work, 8:45 PM.

Okay, so you already know this is after returning home from my last day of work, 8:45 PM.

And you know this is the first "official" morning of vacation. Before going to the airport.

And you know this is the first “official” morning of vacation. Before going to the airport.

This is the "next day," I guess. Technically. How do you measure "days" after an 11 hour transatlantic flight?

This is the “next day,” I guess. Technically. How do you measure “days” after an 11-hour transatlantic flight?

First full day in London. I'm obviously very excited to be out and about here. Wearing a new dress and everything! Ambitious.

First full day in London. I’m obviously very excited to be out and about here. Wearing a new dress and everything! Ambitious.

Pretty excited this day, as well. Headed to take a rock n' roll tour of London with my love.

Pretty excited this day, as well. Headed to take a rock n’ roll tour of London with my love.

Feeling a little rough this day; weather turned pretty wet and cold and the walking started to get tough. BUT, had a fun time watching rugby with Irish friends at the pub.

Feeling a little rough this day; weather turned pretty wet and cold and the walking started to get tough. BUT, had a fun time watching rugby with Irish friends at the pub.

Out the door to catch the Eurostar to Paris. Very excited for the next leg of the journey and I think I can see that here? Weather turned nice, too. I took it as a sign.

Out the door to catch the Eurostar to Paris. Very excited for the next leg of the journey and I think I can see that here? Weather turned nice, too. I took it as a sign.

This was probably my favorite day of the whole trip. Took Trent to my favorite spot in Paris and then ate my favorite vacation meal. Had a terrible time walking home and almost didn't make it, but I was very, very happy.

This was probably my favorite day of the whole trip. Took Trent to my favorite spot in Paris and then ate my favorite vacation meal. Had a terrible time walking home and almost didn’t make it, but I was very, very happy.

Breakfast in Paris, Day . Woke up super psyched for another great day; put on a terribly cute yet impractical outfit to go to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Kind of regretted that, but had a great day. Paris was my favorite part of the trip.

Breakfast in Paris, Day 6 in Europe. Woke up super psyched for another great day; put on a ridiculously cute yet terribly impractical outfit to go to the top of the Eiffel Tower. Kind of regretted that, but had a great day nonetheless. Paris was my favorite part of the trip.

Last day in Paris. On a high as leave to go to the Catacombs. Got a little nervous I wouldn't make it all the way though, but I did!

Last day in Paris. On a high before leaving to go to the Catacombs. Got a little nervous I wouldn’t make it all the way, but I did!

Checking out of our Paris hotel and heading to Munich Friday morning (Day in Europe). Do I look wistful? And also a little chubby in that scarf... Ick.

Checking out of our Paris hotel and heading to Munich Friday morning (Day 8 in Europe). Do I look wistful? And also a little chubby in that scarf… Ick.

Welcome to Munich. We forgot to take a picture before leaving the Dabbs house, so as soon as we got to the biergarten I let Olive take one of me. She was very excited to learn that it got 20 likes on Instagram.

Welcome to Munich. We forgot to take a picture before leaving the Dabbs house, so as soon as we got to the biergarten I let Olive take one of me. She was very excited to learn that it got 20 likes on Instagram.

Day 10 in Europe. I woke up very under the weather this day, but didn't want to give in. Instead, we went to the top of Zugspitze in the Alps. I REALLY tried my darndest. Can you tell?

Day 10 in Europe. I woke up very under the weather this day, but didn’t want to give in. Instead, we went to the top of Zugspitze in the Alps. I REALLY tried my darndest. Can you tell?

Okay. Last full day in Europe. I am really sick and starting to admit it, but I managed to have a nice day out in the city with my husband.

Okay. Last full day in Europe. I am really sick and starting to admit it, but I managed to have a nice day out in the city with my husband.

Time to go home, clearly. If there's any picture that reflects how I'm feeling physically, this. is. it.

Time to go home, clearly. If there’s any picture that accurately reflects how I’m feeling physically, this. is. it.

So, to recap:

Selfie_Collage.jpg

Okay, okay. I was one short of a perfect grid. I really did feel exactly how Sammy looks on my last day off at home, though.

So, does this mean anything? I guess not. The truth is I think I actually feel physically worse now that vacation is over – my legs are no better, I can’t walk more than about five blocks without losing all feeling and strength and on top of that, I’m now stuck with a sinus infection that seems as though it might be here to stay.

But mentally I feel a hell of a lot better. I can’t even remember what I was so freaked out about before we left… My two days back at work this week felt easy and I’ve even been enjoying my new bathroom. F#@%ed up grout and everything.

If the last ten years have taught me anything, it’s that lower stress equals a stronger Lisa. So I do not regret taking the vacation, and I believe I’m on the road to recovery. Even if I don’t feel it – or see it – quite yet.

AND – I figured out the future of Cheese Day.

As soon as I can walk like normal again, there’s a new day to celebrate (but it won’t be with cheese yet – I am back on my regular diet for now). If that happens in April, May, June – whatever. That will be the day to memorialize. When we hit the one-year anniversary of that day, we have a new Cheese Day.

Get it?

Yeeeaaahhh...

Yeeeaaahhh… I guess.

Then that’s a plan, stan.

(I’ll share more about the trip and photos of things OTHER than me in the next post, after I get more rest and can breathe like a normal human again…)

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Manifestations

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    What a beautiful chronicle of courage and strength and joy and health and life. Just more proof that that external circumstances cannot dictate the state of your health. Health is a state of mind, and you have achieved true health. The clock to recovery starts now. And one year from now we will celebrate a new anniversary. Maybe the real learning from this trip is that freaking out is such a waste of energy. (I am guilty of the same thing myself, and suspect the tendency may be hereditary.) Maybe that is the best thing that could have happened to you. In all your travels you learned to stop freaking out. I pray the journey will lead you to a place of peace and contentment. Love you!

  2. […] think I’ve shared enough ugly vacation photos of me at this […]

Leave a Reply

