One Good Thing

It was a strange day today.

I wanted to come home from work and write tonight, but my will has just sort of floated away. It floated away when I got gut-punched by life this afternoon; I got the wind knocked out of me, and I need to lie down now under a fuzzy blanket and watch garbage TV and just drift away.

I need to marathon at least three episodes of House of Cards and imagine a reality with a worse president than the one we might be faced with shortly…

I need to drink one cheap Mexican beer and eat leftover vegan pizza while horizontal. I’m going to let my dog gobble the crumbs off my blanket…

I need to not do my homework; I need to stay out of my basement (where I’ve developed my new home improvement obsession), and I need to stay OFF the internet…

I need to let my mind – my brain – rest. It needs it.

But before I go, I need one good thing to meditate on. Here it is:

“Learning to let go should be learned before learning to get. Life should be touched, not strangled. You’ve got to relax, let it happen at times, and at others move forward with it.”

– Ray Bradbury

IMG_8773

 

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “One Good Thing

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    You strangled it. It happened. Now you can move forward with it. Truer words were never spoken. ( I should take that advice myself.) You don’t have to “do” anything right now. Just rest and heal. Let it happen. We love you! (Grandma and I will be wearing orange today in honor of MS Awareness Week.)

Leave a Reply

