100/110/10

Today is 110 years since the Great San Francisco Earthquake of 1906.

Trent shows off the historic photo we bought a few years ago for 3675 of SF burning after the 1906 quake.

Trent shows off the historic photo we bought a few years ago for 3675 of SF burning after the 1906 quake. Every Bay Area home needs such a thing.

I knew it the second I opened my work calendar this morning and looked at that date on the screen:

April 18

It’s seared in my memory not because I’m a huge history buff (even though I am), but because I remember very clearly where I was on the 100th anniversary of the Great San Francisco Earthquake. The BIG anniversary of the BIG One.

I was sitting at my gate in Detroit Metro Airport, waiting to fly to San Francisco for the first time in my life, on the dime of my new employer, to go apartment hunting and meet my new team.

I was nervous enough about making a huge life change – about leaving my beloved Detroit, where I’d grown up and knew everything about everyone and every place – and relocating somewhere I’d literally never been before, knew not one single person, had never even considered myself ending up. I was nervous about doing it while I was still in a Multiple Sclerosis relapse (as I am now, strangely enough); just a couple months out of the hospital, still symptomatic, only a couple weeks into a new medication regimen and not sure when – or if – I would start feeling normal again.

And then… I started worrying about dying in an earthquake. I started worrying that maybe the terrifying footage streaming across CNN of San Francisco on fire for days was some kind of omen: a last-chance warning to TURN BACK NOW (to the safety of Detroit, of all places).

Luckily, I boldly ignored that warning and got on the plane anyway.

And I found the apartment (in one day – definitely a relic of SF days gone by now).

And I met my team.

And I fell in love with my new home.

The first time I ever approached my office at Antenna, on Rodeo Beach. Morning of April 19, 2006.

The first time I ever approached my office at Antenna, on Rodeo Beach in the Marin Headlands. Morning of April 19, 2006.

First non-selfie with the Golden Gate bridge, from happy hour at the Presidio Yacht Club with my new team, April 20, 2006/

First non-selfie with the Golden Gate bridge, from happy hour at the Presidio Yacht Club with my new team, April 20, 2006.

Of course, I fell out of love with it later, and back in love with it, and back out, and back in again.

The point is, a decade went by in the blink of an eye. Ten years, three more jobs, an incredible husband, a perfect fuzzbuddy, two beautiful homes, and an amazing bunch of friends and new family.

(a couple earthquakes, too, but none of them have been that bad – yet)

And I’m still here. And staying.

Lisa: 10 years in California. 2006 - 2016.

Lisa: 10 years in California. 2006 – 2016.

Happy Californiaversary to me.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “100/110/10

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    What a remarkable ten years it has been, Lisa. I cannot imagine what the next ten will be like, but this is a lesson in following your heart. What is waiting at the other side is sometimes remarkable, and you can’t get there if you don’t try. I know it took a lot of courage for you to start a new life in a new place, but what a beautiful life and place it has been. I cannot imagine the next chapter to be any less remarkable or beautiful. I have enjoyed sharing it with you. When I look at those pictures I yearn to be there, too. They are great reminders of how sweet and special life can be and of why we must never give up on anything. Love you!

  2. […] a decade after abandoning my life in Detroit for a “clean slate”, said life is completely full again. Overflowing, in fact. Life […]

Leave a Reply

