Overtime

“Working on the weekend” took on a whole new meaning for me this past one.

Yeeeahhh...

Yeeeahhh…

PHEW. I’ve officially survived my first time hosting the final judging weekend of the Adobe Design Achievement Awards at Adobe’s SF office (aka, MY office). And it just so happened this year – my first year on this program – has been a record-setting year for the competition. More amazing student design submissions than ever. EVER. 5,300!!! Resulting in more SEMIFINALISTS than ever.

Eeevaaarrr.

That all needed to be judged. In one weekend.

Sooo many.

So that translated into a LOT of work. It started with the arrival of the “other half” of my little ADAA team from overseas on Thursday (Mathias and Stephan from Germany, Emlyn from Ireland via Montreal). They joined Johnson and I for two days of planning (and drinking beer) until the wee hours of Friday.

And then we picked back up Saturday at 7:00 AM, when our 14 judges arrived, from all over the damn place.

We are launching student careers. There will be NO BREAKS.

We are launching student careers. There will be NO BREAKS.

Except we took a 12-hour break at 7:00 PM on Saturday to – you know – sleep and do a few human things; then it was back to work at 7:00 AM on Sunday, until…

2:00 IN THE F#@%ING MORNING!!!

Okay, from 6:00 PM – 2:00 AM we were just partying:

Our rad panel of judges, including Mike Patterson (tall guy), who animated TAKE ON ME FOR A-HA!!!

Our rad panel of judges, including Mike Patterson (tall guy), who animated TAKE ON ME FOR A-HA!!!

Very awesome (and expensive) after-judging dinner at 54 Mint in SF. I drank many varied beverages.

Very awesome (and expensive) after-judging dinner at 54 Mint in SF. I enjoyed many varied beverages.

IMG_0323

Approximately five hours (and five beverages) later still. Stephan, Emlyn, me, and Mathias.

Needless to say, the next day…

Someboday had a case of the Mondays. FOR REALZ.

Someboday had a case of the Mondays. FOR REALZ.

BUT, we really did launch some student careers. This little “wildcard project” in my Adobe portfolio has turned out to be one of my very favorites so far. If you didn’t click the link up there, seriously…

Click it. 

It’s an awesome program; an awesome project. And we’ve made it more awesome than ever this year. I’m not the kind of person who’s normally cool with putting in 30 hours on the WEEKEND – I’d much rather be floating on water somewhere drinking a beer – but I must say, this has been worth it so far.

Plus, I somehow managed to drink a lot of beer anyway.

Except this – this was not beer. It was coffee with grappa in it and at 3:30 in the morning when I was STILL awake, I deeply regretted drinking it.

Except this – this was not beer. This was coffee with grappa in it and at 3:30 on Monday morning when I was STILL awake, I deeply regretted drinking it.

Click the link, and get ready for more stories about this awesome work we’re doing (and how it’s taking over my life) this fall…

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Overtime

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Grappa! That’s my girl! Embracing the Italian side of your heritage! Wide awake drunk! Best way to be! But it seems you did have much to celebrate. I am happy that you have the joy of working with such an incredible group of individuals to create opportunities for young artist students. What a cool job! It is indeed awesome work, for so many reasons, but mostly because art and life have become one for you. Isn’t that what you always hoped for when you picked the art history program at U of M so many years ago? Well done.

Leave a Reply

