Guest Room: DONE!

It’s kinda pathetic that almost one year to the day that I documented we were FINALLY starting to decorate our remodeled guest room

…I have FINALLY finished decorating the remodeled guest room.

Okay. So, since is the second project I’ve finished this month that feels as though it kinda dragged on a loooooong time, I feel like I just have to be clear…

I swear to god, I really am the world’s most hardcore “get ‘er done” person. You will never meet ANYONE who attacks home improvement tasks with more forceful determination than yours truly. I have lived in this house for four years and I have now repaired the foundation, tore down and rebuilt the deck, redone the landscaping, replaced nearly all the plumbing, redone the sewer lateral, put a new roof on, put in three tiers of flagstone patio, built a new fence, removed two trees, replaced all the doors and most of the windows, remodeled a bathroom, REFINISHED the new deck that we built, completed a total engineered seismic retrofit…

And that’s not even all. But that’s the big stuff.

Anyway, I am NOT a procrastinator – that’s all I’m trying to say. BUT – now that I’m on to this so-called “fun stuff” i.e. decorating, I seem to no longer be able to “attack”.

I just don’t want an Ikea house, or a Pottery Barn house, or a Crate and Barrel house, or even a West Elm house.

I don’t want my home built on trends, and I don’t want anyone else’s advice – I want it built on the treasures of my family, but expressed through mine and Trent’s unique sensibilities.

I want everything just our way. And, well… it sure is hard to hunt down everything exactly as I see it in my mind’s eye. It takes time.

In the case of our guest room, it took exactly one year, apparently.

But as of yesterday, it’s done. And good thing, because my mom gets here TOMORROW, and she needs a room to sleep in.

Small but damn comfy! There used to be a closet behind the headboard; it's still there, but we rebuilt it in the laundry room, on the other side of the wall, to give us access to this wall for a bed.

Small but damn comfy! There used to be a closet behind the headboard; it’s still there, but we rebuilt it in the laundry room, on the other side of the wall, to give us room on this side for a bed. My signed Mario Wagner souvenir from our 2014 Art.com pop-up shop on Union Square (over the bed) drove the color palette for the room. 

Actually just installed this little lamp on the headboard for my mom to read with – a finishing space-saving touch (also, it's bulb-less!).

Actually just installed this little lamp on the headboard for my mom to read by – a finishing space-saving touch (also, it’s bulb-less!). We custom-framed our creepy insane sugar and plastic ads from a Seattle antique print shop ourselves – super happy with how they turned out (even though I bitched through that project, too). I love that they’re the kind of things that Mario references in his art. 

We inherited this glorious antique from Trent's grandparents, and it's the perfect closet substitute (and contrast in lines to the wrought iron bed).

We inherited this glorious antique from Trent’s grandparents, and it’s the perfect closet substitute (and contrast in lines to the wrought iron bed). Pay no attention to my dog’s stinky blanket, please. 

Found this baby at the antiques fair after a year of searching. Perfect clean lines to echo the straightness of the chiffarobe, but decidedly more modern. Reupholstered it in turquoise to finish off the trifecta of bright color in the art.

Found this baby at the antiques fair after a year of searching. Perfect clean lines to echo the straightness of the chiffarobe, but decidedly more modern (like a chair for the lady in the plastic ad!). Reupholstered it in turquoise to finish off the trifecta of bright color in Mario’s work. The old front door to our house – found in the yard while building our new fence – made it on to the wall over the light switch. 

Now I just have to do my own room. SOOO looking forward to a Christmas 2017 move-in!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Guest Room: DONE!

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    I am delighted to be able to “christen” your guest room! I can’t wait to experience it in person. And I don’t know anyone who pays more attention to detail than you do. One day, I hope you can re-do my embarrassing miss-mosh of eclectic leftovers from the households of your dead ancestors, and introduce a more colorful and inspiring “palette” to my manufactured home walls. I have to warn you. It will be a challenge, and it might take you more than a year. BTW, you did get your “git-er-done” gene from me. As for the interior design talent, not so much. Congratulations on a beautiful job! It makes the room inviting, inspiring and comforting. A place I will truly love to come home to. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

