Mungacation 2016

I just dropped my mom off at the airport, and I am sad.

It was the longest trip she’s ever made to see us, and coincidentally at probably the worst time of year for us since Trent and I are both packing up to head to San Diego – I leave tomorrow for Adobe MAX and Trent joins me there in two days (he’s going to the conference this year, so I at least get hubby company!).

But I wanted to see my mom; after the year she’s had, I wanted to get her out of Michigan and get her to relax. I wanted to push myself extra hard and get ready for my MAX responsibilities a week early, so I could have this time to relax with her before diving into the most stressful week of my year.

I just wanted my mom.

I didn’t quite succeed at the stress-free part. I was never able to completely “turn off” during her visit; I was still feeling the crunch, and I’m a little disappointed about that.

But I do think Munga got to relax. I got to take her stress away for a week, I hope. And we got to be together. We got to take a lot of naps together.

And we did actually manage to do quite a lot of fun stuff, too…

My personal take your mom to work day at Adobe.

My personal take your mom to work day at Adobe.

Stopping my the Phillz Coffee mothership on the way to tour the Adobe Studio.

Stopping my the Philz Coffee mothership on our way to tour the Adobe Studio.

My colleagues show Munga all the cool stuff.

My colleagues show Munga all the cool stuff.

Munga gets a lesson in contemporary art at 1275 Minnesota.

Munga gets a lesson in contemporary art at 1275 Minnesota.

Munga gets a haircut from the best!

Munga gets a haircut from the best!

Munga feels like a kid again, when I take her to the Pace Gallery for the teamLab show.

Munga feels like a kid again, when I take her to the Pace Gallery for the teamLab show.

Munga meets the neighbors and carves a pumpkin!

Munga meets the neighbors and carves a pumpkin!

Michigan beats MSU, and Munga and I celebrate (while wearing our comfies and drinking beer at 9:00 AM at the cabin!).

Michigan beats MSU, and Munga and I celebrate (while wearing our comfies and drinking beer at 9:00 AM at the cabin!).

Munga tastes some mountain wine (and likes it!) with Marlene.

Munga tastes some mountain wine (and likes it!) with Marlene.

Everyone is sad to see Munga go. :-(

Everyone is sad to see Munga go. 😦

I did get my mom. That’s all I really wanted.

••••••••••••••••••••

See all our pics of Munga’s 2016 visit here.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

5 thoughts on “Mungacation 2016

  1. Denise says:

    So awesome to see Marge enjoying some much needed R&R. Can’t wait to see you both at Christmas!

    • Margaret Wisniewski says:

      Thank you, Denise! I actually unclenched and took several naps and binge watched TV. My dream vacation! Can’t wait to do it again!

  2. Marlene says:

    Thx for sharing Munga!! ❤️❤️

    • Margaret Wisniewski says:

      Thank you for sharing you with me! It was a blast to hang out with you, and I can’t wait to do it again.

  3. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    It was good to be wanted by you, Lisa! Every mom loves hearing that, especially from a kid like you. I am sorry you couldn’t relax as much as I did. You get that trait from me. And I am sorry you had to work so hard just to provide me with some R&R. Rest assured, you succeeded in making it happen for me. I actually quit working for two days in a row! That’s a record for me! And you made it happen!!!! You and Trent at the bests hosts in the world. I had a fabulous and unforgettable time. I want to go back soon. Love you all!

Leave a Reply

