Resist

Marchers filing up the escalator of L'Enfant Metro station in Washington, D.C., January 21, 2017.

Marchers filing up the escalator of L’Enfant Metro station in Washington, D.C., January 21, 2017.

“Each time a man stands up for an ideal, or acts to improve the lot of others, or strikes out against injustice, he sends forth a tiny ripple of hope, and crossing each other from a million different centers of energy and daring, those ripples build a current that can sweep down the mightiest walls of oppression and resistance.”

– Robert Kennedy, 1966

••••••••••••••••••••

Lots of people are asking, so…

That’s “why I marched” in the Women’s March on Washington this past weekend. It’s why I also spent the whole week in Washington D.C., to protest the inauguration of the illegitimate Donald Trump as president of our country. And it’s why I will continue to resist, at every opportunity, every day he holds office.

Passing the Capitol on the Women's March.

Passing the Capitol on the Women’s March.

Yes, I marched for “women’s rights,” too – I am a woman, and equal pay and the right to choose and the importance of speaking out against misogyny and all the other “women’s issues” are important to me. Very important to me, of course. But they are not the only reasons I marched.

They aren’t even at the top of my list, frankly.

I marched because it has to end. All of it:

Racism.

Xenophobia.

The assault on our environment.

Rampant, unapologetic crony capitalism.

The police state.

Truer never words were never etched in cardboard.

Truer words were never etched in cardboard.

We have to continue forward progress toward solving these issues. We cannot let our momentum stall now; we are not going back. 

For the sake of us all. 

And I actually have the least skin in the game; let’s be honest. I might be a woman, but I’m a privileged white citizen – childfree – with boatloads of security in all forms from education to money to health insurance to a family support system, living in the so-called “bubble” of the Bay Area.

But precisely for that reason, I must do the most. After all; the main reason I’m “childfree” is that for decades now, I’ve known I didn’t want to raise a child in a world filled with said racism, xenophobia, rampant crony capitalism, police brutality, and on the brink of ecological disaster. 

But in making that choice, I knowingly left myself with the time, resources and mental energy to challenge everything. 

I’ve been doing an okay job, but it’s time to kick it up a notch.

Every single day now must be a fight – not for me, but for the oppressed. For those who aren’t afraid of what might be, but who already struggle in the now. For those who find themselves at risk of being plunged into even greater darkness than the place where “America” has already been holding them down.

Every day must be lived in full awareness of the plight of my friends and neighbors at society’s intersections. Yes, I am crying and losing sleep over potentially being uninsured some day – I don’t want to be and I truly hope I’m not. But since long before my ears were open, others have cried out against and for much more.

When will their cries be answered?

Only then will it “get better” for all of us.

Festival of Resistance, Columbus Circle, Inauguration Day 2017.

Festival of Resistance, Columbus Circle, Inauguration Day 2017.

So: Week 1 of the authoritarian’s regime, I flew to Washington. I organized, I educated myself, I rallied my family, I protested the inauguration with my mother, sister, aunt, and friends, and then together we all marched with the women of the Women’s March.

Today, and every day, I am resisting.

Do not be complicit.

Do not be complicit.

Luckily, my sister still lives in D.C. and still has her job at the Department of Justice (fingers crossed!), and she DEFINITELY needs someone to grocery shop and cook for her, so… At least I have a crash pad.

••••••••••••••••••••

“In the End, we will remember not the words of our enemies, but the silence of our friends.”

– Martin Luther King, Jr., 1967

••••••••••••••••••••

See all the photos of my week in Washington D.C. against the inauguration here.

Tagged , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Resist

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    Thank you, Lisa, for writing this so eloquently for all of us. Thank you for recording this important moment in history for our family and for the rest of the world. Thank you for inspiring me, and for being the kind of role model that young women need right now. Never doubt for a minute that you have made a difference in so many people’s lives. Never doubt for a minute that you have propelled me to action, when it would have been easier to just sit on the couch and watch the whole thing on TV. In all of the great civilizations of the world, women have made a difference. That will be the case now. But I am mostly proud of the fact that I can have the privilege of knowing that I raised kids who care deeply about other human beings and are willing to take a stand to prove it. You and your sister are smart! You are fearless! You are going to change the world!! And I am praying that I will be here to see it!

  2. Marlene says:

    I second what Munga stated: You inspire me and I am proud to be your friend.
    Thank-you for caring and rallying.

  3. RIGHT ON! We must also broadcast to our fellow resistors that WE ARE NOT ALONE. I find it cathartic to protest like we did on Saturday. ..to march down Main street shouting at the tops of our lungs, shaking our fists at idiots….that was downright therapeutic and I recommend it to everyone . It was also lots of fun. If you’re looking for a fun party, PROTEST, REVOLT, RESIST AND MARCH. I, too, am proud of you young ladies….Marge too! Thanks!

  4. […] made it a while ago, while I was in Washington D.C., and he’d been trying to show it to me, but I’d been distant and didn’t respond […]

  5. […] Protest week in Washington D.C., and really this doesn’t count because it was planned back in 2016. So […]

Leave a Reply

