Siamese

It’s times like these, times when life just feels like a steaming pile of…

You know.

You know.

…that I really miss my sister.

We’re like the same person, and yet we are so totally not the same person! It’s crazy. I realize this more and more, the older I get:

No one gets me like my sister does. 

(HA! Sarah – I just started a blog about you with a poop emoji!)

Earlier this week. I had a meltdown on the phone with my mom, over the general state of “disarray” my life has suddenly fallen into (disarray is not my thing, if you haven’t figured that out). I might have had a few, progressive meltdowns. Maybe.

My mother – certain I must be suicidal after suffering a “broken” husband”, “broken” car, two “broken” houses, and a “broken” washer/dryer all in two weeks (actually, I’m sure she thought I would be just fine until the washer/dryer, and she was right) – called my younger, carefree, messy, unflappable sister to warn her.

And my sister responded:

“Oh come on – she’ll be fine and you know it. This is like the Superbowl of stress and problemsolving. Lisa was BORN for this. She’s gonna go Tom Brady her way out of it and win MVP of life.”

AND SHE’S RIGHT. DAMMIT.

In the last 24 hours I have actually high-fived my husband; I’ve actually smacked him on the ass and congratulated him on our “MVP performance”.

I might be on a little bit of a fourth-quarter high right now, after getting a new sump pump installed, buying a new washer and dryer, bringing out three contractors for estimates, and hiring a handyman all within 72 hours (during part of which I was on the road to Phoenix).

She’s always right. Nobody knows me like she does. She gets me.

(And I get her, too, just so you know…)

I’ve done it before, but I need to regularly…

I need to get some sister therapy:

Fuzzy couch, 1984.

Fuzzy couch, 1982. 

Halloween 1985.

Halloween 1985.

1986: The hot summer when mom cut all our hair off

1986: The hot summer when mom cut all our hair off “to keep us cool”, and yet we slept in the same bed?

Shortly after moving to Northville. Around the time Sarah punched the neighbor kid in the face for making fun of our bald dad, who was on chemo. And they never let us swim in their awesome in-ground swimming pool (but it was totally worth it).

Shortly after moving to Northville, around the time Sarah punched the neighbor kid in the face and we were forever banned from their sweet in-ground swimming pool. But the kid made fun of our bald dad on chemo, and it was totally worth it.

Sharing Dad at the Valentine's Daddy/Daughter dance, 1988. Lame (eyeroll on point).

Sharing Dad at the Valentine’s Daddy/Daughter dance, 1988. Eyeroll on point.

Aboard the Mar-Sa-Li II, Kean's Marina, Detroit, 1988.

Aboard the Mar-Sa-Li II, Kean’s Marina, Detroit, 1988.

Miss you all the time, Saroots, but a lot right now. You would really be enjoying the show.

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Siamese

  1. Margaret Wisniewski says:

    We miss you, too! Nothing like family when disaster strikes. And it’s good to hear that you survived disaster. And it is so good to know that your sister means to much to you. If we were on a sinking ship, we would want to be sitting right next to you!!! And thanks for reminding me about all those sweet childhood moments that brought you closer and closer together. I forgot about the punching incident! Priceless! That should tell you that Sarah will always go to the wall for you. When disaster strikes, we will all be here for each other. Go Lisa and Trent! Touchdown! That was a Super Bowl Touchdown moment! Love you all!

  2. Sarah says:

    This is awesome! Thank you for this, Lisa. I’m going to go Munga and print it off. And I can’t wait for our next visit.

    🤢 – Look! I ended with a vomit emoji!

  3. Suzy says:

    Sisters are the best! ❤

  4. Marlene says:

    Ah sister love!
    Sorry the month of February was a Bastard!

Leave a Reply

